|
University of Georgia-Centennial Olympic Games collection, UA97-110
The collection consists of planning documents, publicity files, press and memorabilia associated with the University of Georgia's role in the 1996 Summer Olympics . Most planning files in the collection focus on preparing UGA athletic venues, such as Sanford Stadium and Stegeman Coliseum, for Olympic use. Other files concern volunteer work, public safety, publicity, and press. A wide range of UGA and Olympic memorabilia is also included, consisting of apparel, hats, commemorative pins and buttons, and posters.
Charles Boynton Knapp papers, UA 97-103
The Charles Boynton Knapp papers are divided into six series: Inauguration, Athletics, Financial, Administrative, Performing Arts and Visual Arts Complex and Olympics . The Inauguration series consists of materials related to Charles Knapp's inauguration as the President of the University of Georgia in 1987. The Athletics series has items connected to various sports but mostly deals with the Athletic Association and the University's football team. These materials date from 1983 to 1997. The Financial series includes budgets and fundraising and development documentation. The Administrative series provides insight into the day to day workings of the University of Georgia and its administration during the years 1981 to 1997. The Performing Arts and Visual Arts Complex series mostly consists of material documenting the creation of the complex in the early to mid-1990s. The Olympics series has items relating to UGA's involvement with the 1996 Olympics.
Frank Hamrick photograph archive, MS3238
The collection consists of 450 photographs (contact sheets and negatives) taken in 2004 of mainly downtown Athens, Georgia. Included in this number are also a few images of various places on the University of Georgia campus.
The Georgia Music Hall of Fame Collection, MS3837
The Georgia Music Hall of Fame served as the state's official music museum from 1996 to 2011. Located in downtown Macon, the 48,000 square foot building was home to thousands of documents, instruments, sound recordings, and artifacts representing Georgia's vast and diverse music history. In the 2000s the museum began to encounter financial difficulties, with decreasing revenue and low attendance. In 2010 the state legislature voted to cease funding for the museum, and bids were accepted from other cities to provide a site for it. When none of the bids were found to be suitable, the decision was made to close the Georgia Music Hall of Fame in June 2011
Georgia Music Series 2, Posters
Consists of several hundred wall posters, flyers, album flats, and promotional displays for a wide range of artists. The majority of posters feature individual artists and groups, promoting their albums and tours. Some publicize festivals and other special events that included many artists, such as Athfest, the Atlanta International Pop Festival, and the Blind Willie McTell Blues Festival.
Cindy Wilson and Keith Bennett B-52's memorabilia, MS3905
The collection consists of artifacts, textiles, and other memorabilia associated with the B-52's, and, in particular, singer Cindy Wilson. Materials include wigs, dresses, coats, and boots from Cindy Wilson's stage wardrobe, Ricky Wilson's electric guitars, posters, and print souvenirs.
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Includes The Red & Black, Flagpole, and other titles. Users should limit their search by selecting a specific newspaper title from the "Newspaper" drop-down menu at the bottom of the page.
WUOG (90.5 FM) records, UA16-016
UGA's student-run campus radio station has featured interviews with and performances by big names on the Athens Music Scene.
Harmon W. Caldwell papers, UA97-098
Caldwell was University President from 1935-1948, during which time the College of Veterinary Medicine was established (1946) and Baldwin Hall (1938) was constructed.
University of Georgia annual reports, UA97-105
A great general resource for UGA's administrative history. It's a work in progress, but by March 2018 all print volumes, 1896-2002, will be indexed in the finding aid.
University of Georgia ephemera collection, UA85-001
Ephemera is archives-speak for "random stuff." A large miscellaneous collection of UGA pamphlets, bulletins, brochures, memorabilia, etc.
University of Georgia blueprints and plans, UA97-112
University System of Georgia blueprints and plans, UA13-022
If you are focusing on a building, blueprints and plans make great visuals
|
