GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: SOCI 3320: Sociology of Urban Life: Local Info

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Athens News Sources

Newspapers

Athens Banner Herald: Local daily newspaper. Older articles available in the site search beginning in the early 2000s. Also available for more precise searching through Access World News (1999 - present).

Flagpole (Athens alternative weekly): Current content and archive (December 2012 - present)

The Red and Black (independent UGA student newspaper): Current content (archives available through site search back to early 2000s); Online archives, 1893-2006.

Video

Grady Newsource is produced by UGA's Grady College and is "both a class and an independent news organization." Content focuses on local and UGA news.

Radio

WUGA (91.7 FM): Local Georgia Public Broadcasting affiliate. Local programming includes Athens News Matters, in which local journalists, elected officials, and other local movers-and-shakers chat about Athens issues.

WXAG (92.7 FM): Live stream (no archives, must listen or record live), schedule (hosted shows generally focus on local issues, especially pertaining to the black community)

Other Newspapers

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international news coverage.
Access World News provides access to electronic editions of thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as international sources. In addition to newspaper content, sources such as blogs, broadcast transcripts, and video clips are also included. Company and industry information, politics, sports, cultural activities, and people in the community are among the subjects covered. Paid ads are excluded.
Beta trial database.
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.
Historical Newspapers Online, from Proquest, contains the full text of many American historical newspapers, including many that are no longer published. Both well-known and obscure publications are included.

SOCI 3320: Sociology of Urban Life

Your Librarian

Chat with a Librarian

Athens-Clarke County Guide

Athens News Sources

Other Newspapers