Skip to main content

POLS 3700: Research Methods in Criminal Justice: Research

Encyclopedias

Though not scholarly research, these are great places to start your research.  These academic encyclopedias give background information, basic statistics, and will help you get a firm grasp of your paper topic.

21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook (2009) (SAGE) 

Provides definitive overviews of 100 key topics covering traditional criminology and its modern developments.  

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (2002) (SAGE) 

A comprehensive introductory tool covering the fields of law enforcement, justice, and corrections.  

Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory (2010) (SAGE) 

A reference source surveying contemporary criminological theory.  

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice (2002) (SAGE) 

Basic information on a range of topics related to juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice.  

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement (2005) (SAGE) 

Cover state and local, national, and international law enforcement.  

Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime (2003) (SAGE) 

Over 200 entries explore murder, violent crime, profiling, deterrence, investigation, punishment and more.  

Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities (2005) (SAGE) 

Detailed and authoritative descriptions of the major prisons in the United States.   

Encyclopedia of Race and Crime (2009) (SAGE) 

Examines race and ethnicity and their impact on crime and the administration of justice.  

Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention (2010) (SAGE) 

Examines crime within the context of its victims and its possible prevention.  

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime (2005) (SAGE) 

Covers corporate, organizational, governmental, financial, and political crimes.  

Scholarly Research

These databases index scholarly articles and legal research for Criminal Justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Covering major journals in criminology.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts (EBSCO)

Covers the fields of law enforcement and criminal justice from 1970 to the present.  

Political Science Complete (EBSCO) 

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  

Getting the GALILEO Password

You are required to log in to access UGA Libraries resources from off campus and on some wireless networks. 

Simply click on the resource you want under the "Articles and Databases" tab, and enter in your MyID and password.

If your library account is blocked due to overdue books and/or fines you will be unable to access GALILEO off campus.

What articles are acceptable to use?

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website