Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4770 - Religion and Politics (Ben Shitrit): Home

Religion and Politics

Religion Resources

  • ATLA Religion Database
    Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Religion (2005)
    Electronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.  
     
  • Index Islamicus
    Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present. 

Religion Data

iPoll : U.S. opinion polls on major issues, politics, and society.

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Finding Full Text

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

Click on the  button under the result;

If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

If we don't have access online:

Click on the print link to see if we have the journal in print.

If we don't have a subscription:

Click on the InterLibrary Loan link and we will get the article for you (normally within 24 hours).

Access to GALILEO off campus

If you are off campus, you will have to log in with your MyID and password because you will be able to use GALILEO.

If you are trying to access it something through GALILEO, and it asks for money (OH NO), do not pay!  First, make sure we don't have access to it.

1) Copy and paste the URL in the search box on this page:  http://www.libs.uga.edu/proxy_url.html and click on the link the page generates.

If you still can't read it, contact your trusty librarian for help!

2) Chat online, email us, call us, or come to one of our libraries in person! http://www.libs.uga.edu/chat/

Databases in International Affairs

Try these first:

Political Science Complete (EBSCO)

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.  

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center 

This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

ProQuest Political Science
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) 

Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research.  

‚ÄčProQuest Military Database

Military and government articles.  Include's full text of Jane's.

Digital National Security Archive

Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Homeland Security Digital Library

Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

Area Studies

Africa Bibliography (International African Institute) 

Publications on African and African studies that focuses on the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts, with some coverage of the health and natural sciences.  

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

North American research on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.  

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Index to social sciences and humanities research on the Far East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Index to articles on Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Index Islamicus

Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

This database contains more than 630,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.

Books and More

If you want to just search what the Libraries physically owns, like print books, DVDs, CDs, and other materials, you can search our Catalog directly.  Our catalog is called GIL-Find.

You can search by the title of something, the author, or something else.

Notice that each book record tells you where it is located (Main, Science, and Special Collections Building have the most amount of books), which floor it is located on, and a unique call number associated with the book.  

Placing Book Requests in the UGA Catalog

You can also Request books from a Library that can be delivered to other Libraries on campus.

First, Sign in to your Library Account using your MyID and password.  After you click on the link for the book, under "Get It," you should see a link:  "Request."

 

 

Choose which library you want the book delivered to and it will be held for you.  (You also can do this with books from other USG libraries and have them delivered to UGA).

 

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website