Factiva: Their News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers. It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.
Duck Duck Go: Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most. This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read. Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.
Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!
Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Statista: A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
IMF eLibrary: Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.
UN iLibrary: Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.
ProQuest Statistical Insight : Coverage ranges across many topics including income, production, retail and wholesale trade, interest rates, economic indicators, demographics, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.
For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website. It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.
Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:
If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:
If it does NOT have those links:
All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.
Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;
The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.
1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically. We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them. There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!
2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect! If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this. Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need. If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.
3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not. Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center
Articles, reports, and background summaries on security and terrorism.
Political Science Complete
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.
ProQuest Political Science
ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
Guide for finding and accessing ebooks: https://guides.libs.uga.edu/COVID19/ebooks
All the world's information is organized by subject. If you know how it is organized, it is easy to find books and articles about your crisis events. Below is an example of how to search for books in the Libraries Catalog:
Choose "subject" from the drop down menu, and then type in the following formula <country> foreign relations <different country>
This will narrow your search to just books about relations between those two countries.
InterLibrary Loan is still getting articles (not books). If there is an article that you need that we do not have access to, or we only have access to in print, you can fill out this form and they will get it for you: https://www.libs.uga.edu/ill/borrowingrequest