Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTstor Image Database
Documents artistic traditions across many time periods and cultures including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design. Digital images come from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. The collection is over 1.9 million images and continues to grow. Artstor supports the needs of faculty, students and researchers in the arts and humanities.
Artstor is the most extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use. To download images you must create a username and password.
Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus)
Perseus Digital Library - Image Database
The Perseus Digital Library has a searchable gazeteer of ancient art and archaeology images. Its coverage is not comprehensive, but it's a good place to start, and authoritative.
This is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University.
Access to the catalog is open to the general public.
Guide to Citing Images
If you are using images that you did not create, you must cite it. Format citations according to the citation style you are using ( Chicago Manual of Style, MLA, APA, etc.). Here are a few basic guidelines:
- Give attribution to image creators in citations and credit statements to acknowledge authorship
- Indicate when using a personal photograph
- Include source information
Include the following information for images acquired through an image database like Artstor:
- Creator's name;
- Title of the work, as given;
- Location of the work (museum, library or owning institution, if known);
- Date of the work;
- Database collection, if known;
- Rights information, if known.
For detailed guidelines on in-text and bibliographic citations of images, visit this guide.
Credit: MIT Libraries Image Resource Guide