Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS 4615: Political Polarization: Scholarly Resources

Political Polarization

Scholarly Articles

  • Political Science Complete
    Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.
  • Public Affairs Index
    Index to articles on national and international public policy.

Getting Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

Placing Book Requests in the UGA Catalog

You can also Request books from a Library that can be delivered to other Libraries on campus.

First, Sign in to your Library Account using your MyID and password.  After you click on the link for the book, under "Get It," you should see a link:  "Request."

 

 

Choose which library you want the book delivered to and it will be held for you.  (You also can do this with books from other USG libraries and have them delivered to UGA).

 

Books and More

If you want to just search what the Libraries physically owns, like print books, DVDs, CDs, and other materials, you can search our Catalog directly.  Our catalog is called GIL-Find.

You can search by the title of something, the author, or something else.

Notice that each book record tells you where it is located (Main, Science, and Special Collections Building have the most amount of books), which floor it is located on, and a unique call number associated with the book.  

Government Documents

Legislative Insight (ProQuest):  ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

Information is organized based on specific public laws and bills, so it is most useful when used to find all the documents related to one bill or public law.

ProQuest Congressional:  Coverage of U.S. Congress; hearings, prints, reports, bills, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulation. 

Information is organized by source and subject, so it is most useful when used to find hearings, reports, and executive orders on a particular subject.

Click on the "Advanced Search" to search for specific types of documents.  To help put together a good search, use the "Find Terms" link to find the subject headings for all the documents.

Idea