ADPR 3110: Brand Storytelling (Deal): Writing and Citing

The APA Style Blog is an amazing resource for students using APA

Reading scholarly research can be hard.  Here is a "bad" paper broken down by a scientist : "Does Splenda cause cancer?"

"10 steps for evaluating scientific papers"

Analyzing Journal Articles

Endnote and Refworks are the two citation managers we provide at UGA. They can be used to input citations into your Word documents and also to format your works cited page for your research papers all at the same time. The best part is they do this automatically for almost any citation style you could need!

Endnote is installed on one computer, and is downloaded directly to your computer.  All of your research citations and affiliated filmes would be saved to that computer.  If you like to keep all your research (including all pdfs, slideshows, etc) in one place (a laptop for example), then Endnote would be a good option.  Because it is a downloaded software, however, it does have a steeper learning curve for first time users.

RefWorks is a web-based service which allows you to access all of your research from any device with access to the internet (mobile devices, computers, etc.).  If you like the flexibility of the cloud and the ability to share your research with anyone, then RefWorks would be a good option.  As it is a cloud based solution, RefWorks is slightly easier to learn.  If you feel Endnote is too complex for you, RefWorks might be a better option.

• Create Endnote Account
• Create Refworks Account

If you want to learn more about either CMS, please take a look at our Citation Management Guide!

I am available to train you in either, so feel free to email or call me to set up a training session.  Both softwares are incredibly powerful, and are indispensible research tools.  I highly recommend integrating a citation management software into your research process.

When you use numeric datasets or a prepared statistical table you must cite where you retrieved the information.  To cite data or statistical tables you should include:

• Author or creator - the person(s), organization, issuing agency or agencies responsible for creating the dataset
• Date of publication - the year the dataset was published, posted or otherwise released to the public (not the date of the subject matter).
• Title or description - complete title or if no title exists, you must create a brief description of the data, including time period covered in the data if applicable
• Publisher  - entity (organization, database, archive, journal) responsible for hosting the data 
• URL or DOI  - the unique identifier if the data set is online

Citing data in APA:

I. Data sets:

Author/Rightsholder, A. A. (Year). Title of publication or data set (Version number if available) [Data File]. Retrieved from (or available from) http://xxxx

The title of the data set should be italicized unless the data set is included as part of a larger work or volume

Example:  United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. (2008).Indiana income limits [Data file]. Retrieved from http://www.huduser.org/Datasets/IL/IL08/in_fy2008.pdf

Example of Table generated from an interactive data set (like in Social Explorer):

Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce (2013). U.S. Direct Investment Abroad, All U.S. Parent Companies 2009-2010. [Data file].  Available from BEA.gov/iTable 

II. Table from a publication 

Author. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor (Edition), Title of publication (pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from http:// OR Location: Publisher OR doi:xxxx.

Example: 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2005). [Interactive map showing percentage of respondents reporting "no" to, During the past month, did you participate in any physical activities?]. Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System. Retrieved from http://apps.nccd.cdc.gov/gisbrfss/default.aspx

The title of the data set should be italicized unless the data set is included as part of a larger work or volume, as in the example above.  

In lots of databases you'll see a "cite button," which most likely looks like two quotation marks.  In very unique, specific types of databases, this is how you can get information about how to cite the thing you are looking at in APA Style.

There is a caveat:  you have to double check and make sure that these citations conform to APA styles.  Since these databases have unique types of material, my suggestion is to use the information provided, but make sure that the Title, Author, and Year conform to APA guidelines, and using the rest of the recommended citation as is.

Databases which have the cite feature include:

Sage Business

PolicyMap

Statista

For the other databases, you will have to write a citation based on the information you are using.

If you are using a resource to find data and data sources, use the guidelines in this guide for data citations (this includes raw data, tables, and data visualizations).

If you are using a report (such as an industry or company report), then you will cite it as a report.  Here is a list of common business databases, and how to cite them in APA Style.