INTL 4315: Comparative Democracy, Democratization, and Civil Society (Dix): Home

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

• Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

• Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
• If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

REQUESTING PDF SCANS

You can request pdf scans of book chapters and print articles which already reside in our collection.  Fill out this form.

REQUESTING BOOK PURCHASES

You can request ebooks be purchased by the UGA Libraries for use for this research paper. Fill out this form.  If we can get an ebook, we normally can turn on access within a business week.

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!

Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

CRS Reports: factual reports from the Congressional Research Service, a non-partisan research group for Congress.

NEW:  

Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

IMF eLibrary:  Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

UN iLibrary:  Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.

UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.

For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website.  It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database.

3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

We also have databases which only cover Political Science and International Affairs.  The best of these are:

• Political Science Complete

  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

• ProQuest Political Science

  ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

We have a lot of databases which aren't in the Multisearch, and would also be helpful when researching your topics.  Here is a selection below.  Full list can be found here:  http://guides.libs.uga.edu/international-affairs-guide

Africa Bibliography

All the world's information is organized by subject.  If you know how it is organized, it is easy to find books and articles about your topic.  Below is an example of how to search for books in the Libraries Catalog:

Choose "subject" from the drop down menu, and then type in the following formula democracy <different country>

This will narrow your search to just books about development of democracy in this country.