Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS 4010 / POLS 4020: Political Philosophy: Home

Plato

Finding Full Text

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

Click on the  button under the result;

If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

If we don't have access online:

Click on the print link to see if we have the journal in print.

If we don't have a subscription:

Click on the InterLibrary Loan link and we will get the article for you (normally within 24 hours).

RIP GALILEO Password

To log into GALILEO databases, all you have to do now is enter in your MyID and password.

Just click on the database link in this guide or on the Libraries homepage and if you are off campus you will be prompted to enter log in.

Finding Articles

Philosopher's Index: Provides citations to articles and books in all areas of philosophy. The most comprehensive philosophy database. Contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.

Other related databases:

Political Science CompleteCitations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

MLA International Bibliography: Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

ATLA Religion Database: Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.

Finding Books

GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:

Search the GILFind catalog below. Note: Using this feature feature will take you away from the subject guide. 

Reference Books

We have two good online encyclopedias for looking up ideas and definitions.

Bevir, M. (2010). Encyclopedia of political theory. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications.

Hammond, S. J. (2009). Political theory: An encyclopedia of contemporary and classic terms. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press.

Don't forget!  Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Online)Ever-expanding collection of articles by leading scholars featuring detailed explanations of philosophical issues along with exhaustive bibliography.

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website