Social Science Reference Data Services: Other Data Sites

Bureau of Census

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Economic Research Service

Energy Information Administration

FedStats

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

IRS, Tax Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics

National Science Foundation, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics

Statistics Canada

United Nations Statistics Division

HUD USER
Data pertaining to housing needs, market conditions, and community development, supplied by the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

USDA Economics and Statistics System
Publications and datasets about agriculture available from the statistical units of the USDA: Economic Research Service, National Agricultural Statistics Service, and the World Agricultural Outlook Board.

IPUMS-International
Download microdata (data from individual records) covering 480 million people in 211 censuses from around the world for 1960 forward, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

IPUMS-USA

Download microdata (data from individual records) on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey, from 1850 to the present, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

IPUMS-CPS

Download microdata (data from individual records) on people in the Current Population Survey, every March from 1962 to the present, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

American Time Use Survey-X

Download microdata (data from individual records) from 2003 forward on how U.S. adults divide their time among activities, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

National Historical Geographic Information System

Tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files from 1790 to 2010, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

Integrated Health Interview Series

Download microdata on people in the U.S. National Health Interview Survey from the 1960s to the present, selecting only the samples and variables you need.

Center of Demography and Ecology (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
This research cooperative boasts "one of the country's finest collections of machine-readable data files in demography."

Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)
Data on world population, environment, health, and geography. Includes several interactive systems to search for data.

Council for European Social Science Data Archives
Home page for the Council for European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA). Search for data available from archives around the world.

Data and Program Library Service (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
DPLS is a collection of social science and cross-disciplinary datafiles. Some of the data collected at DPLS is available for purchase and/or ftp.

The Odum Institute, University of North Carolina
The Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving, and preserving social science data. The archive staff provide comprehensive data management consultation and support through all phases of the research lifecycle.

International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)
Cross-national collaboration on social science surveys in 34 countries. 

National Archives and Records Administration--Center for Electronic Records

Information regarding electronic records, including numeric datafiles, generated by the U.S. Government agencies and available for purchase through the National Archives and Records Administration.

National Data Archive of Child Abuse and Neglect
Information regarding NDACAN including their mission, publications, and available datasets.

UK Data Archive (University of Essex)
Archives approximately 7,000 datasets in the social sciences.

Social and Political Data

Federal Election Commission
Offers downloadable data on campaign financing.

The Gallup Organization
Public opinion data from the Gallup Organization including some tables and statistics and articles from their newsletter and other reports.

General Social Survey
Information regarding the biennial personal interview survey conducted by the National Opinion Research Center. Includes a search engine to search the codebook for relevant variables and an extract utility to subset data.

Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS World Bank)
Household surveys for numerous countries. Access conditions vary by country.