Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4390: European Politics (Mudde): Finding Sources for Assignments

Finding Op-Eds for Examples

Access World News

Search for "opinion OR editorial" under section in the search box drop down menu.

Free access to the Wall Street Journal through UGA.

Free access to the New York Times through Athens Regional Library.

 

How to Write and Op-Ed or Column - Handout from Harvard with tips and suggestions.

Country Background Information and Analysis

If you are doing a case study, I suggest starting with these resources first to get background information.

Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!

Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

CRS Reports

NEW:  Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

IMF eLibrary:  Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

UN iLibrary:  Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.

UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.

For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website.  It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;

 

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.

3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

 

 

Finding Books

All the world's information is organized by subject.  If you know how it is organized, it is easy to find books and articles about your research.  Below is an example of how to search for books in the Libraries Catalog:

Choose "subject" from the drop down menu, and then type in the following formula <country> foreign relations <different country>

This will narrow your search to just books about relations between those two countries.  This formula can be used for any single country research as well.  <country> economic conditions, for example, will bring back books about economy, and <country> social conditions will bring back books about societal issues.

If you want to limit your search to just ebooks, check "Full Access Online" in the left hand menu after you search.

undefined

PDF Scans, GIL Express, and InterLibrary Loan

REQUESTING PDF SCANS

You can request pdf scans of book chapters and print articles which already reside in our collection.  Simply fill out this form.

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Your Librarian