Geography: Books & Print Resources

Explanations of the origins of names for towns, roads, streams, and mountains provide information and anecdotes about Georgia's local history.

Individual volumes availabe in print.
24 volumes with illustrations and maps

Entertaining and educational, this quiz book covers every aspect of southern culture, from alligators to melungeons to zydeco. More than 800 nifty questions and answers test your knowledge of literature, music, history, politics, sports and recreation, science, industry, and religion.

This A-Z guide provides a wealth of information for every country in the world. Each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For every country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. An appendix of indicator tables includes statistics on income and poverty, health and population and a second appendix features regional groupings, such as the EU and the African Union, with useful web links

This handbook offers a broad coverage of terminology and concepts, serving as both an encyclopedic dictionary of geography terms and an approachable overview to the human and physical aspects of world geography. Approximately 150 geographic terms and concepts are defined and discussed, providing an accessible reference for anyone who requires a deeper knowledge of the language and ideas that are important to geography as a discipline. Helpful sidebars are provided to shed light on unusual or controversial theories and concepts. All major geographic concepts and terms are addressed and comprehensively explained using examples.

The Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science covers the essence of this exciting, new, and expanding field in an easily understood but richly detailed style. In addition to contributions from some of the best recognized scholars in GIScience, this volume contains contributions from experts in GIS' supporting disciplines who explore how their disciplinary perspectives are expanded within the context of GIScience--what changes when consideration of location is added, what complexities in analytical procedures are added when we consider objects in 2, 3 or even 4 dimensions, what can we gain by visualizing our analytical results on a map or 3D display?

This glossary draws from over 300 languages to provide a glimpse into how ancient as well as current place names have originated. The International Glossary of Place Name Elements supplies the reader with comprehensive entries that cite examples of the use of many elements, as well as the language of origin, and the English equivalent.

Covering all aspects of global exploration, from Antarctica to the North Pole, The Oxford Companion to World Exploration examines the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers. This coverage includes biographies, including Lewis and Clark, Ferdinand Magellan, Cheng Ho, HernanCortes, Ibn Battuta, Vitus Bering, and Christopher Columbus; national expeditions, including Portuguese, British, French, Chinese, Dutch, and Spanish; and navigational and marine sciences, such as navigational techniques, ancient and medieval navigation, ocean currents and winds, longitude,cartography, and aerial surveys. The Companion's temporal scope ranges from the ancient cultures of Egypt, Persia, Greece, Byzantium, China, Polynesia, and Rome, through to modern space exploration. The Companion contains 800 entries, supplemented by 150 black-and-white and 50 full-color photographs and maps. Annotated primary source materials supplement select biographies.

Explore the history of the world in unprecedented detail with this ultimate guide to history throughout the ages.