GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: History: Digital Library of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

DLG Collections & Databases for History

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from the ACLU archives.
Primary source materials from the ACLU archives on topics such as race, identity, gender rights, workers' rights, popular protest, the role of government, and more. Of particular note are the papers of the ACLU's Southern Regional Office, founded after the passing of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Part of the larger Making of Modern Law series collection by Gale.
Georgia Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.
The Georgia Government Publications database makes available over 30,000 public documents of agencies within the Georgia state government. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. The database contains documents published from 1994 to the present.
Georgia Historic Books This link opens in a new window
Significant 19th and early 20th century books on the culture, history, biography, and literature of the state.
The Georgia Historic Books database contains full-text, fully searchable books related to Georgia's history and culture. Most are from the 19th to early 20th century and focus on Georgia history, biography, and literature.
The database will contain approximately 300 selected books when complete. These have been selected using bibliographies on Georgia history and in consultation with historians, librarians, and other experts on the literature and history of Georgia. The focus of the selection favors history, biography, and literature, but other subject areas related to Georgia are also included. The books may deal with Georgia history as a subject, or they may have been important for the cultural and intellectual development of the state.
In the database, to see a list of all books currently available, choose the option for Browse by Title, Author, or Date.
Database provider: Digital Library of Georgia
Native American Documents This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 documents and images on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S., letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.
This database contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
The project was funded by a grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services. The first 18 months of the Cherokee Phoenix, the first newspaper published in a Native American language, is also available through the Georgia Historic Newspapers database.
Database provider: Digital Library of Georgia.
Richard B. Russell Library Finding Aids This link opens in a new window
Finding aids for collections in the Richard B. Russell Library at the University of Georgia.
The Richard B. Russell Library Finding Aids database provides access to the open collections of the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies. Currently, the database includes finding aids for over one hundred collections, and library staff members are continually adding more.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842 This link opens in a new window
Over 2,000 documents and images on the history of Native Americans in the Southeastern U.S., letters, legal proceedings, military orders, and more.
This database contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
The project was funded by a grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services. The first 18 months of the Cherokee Phoenix, the first newspaper published in a Native American language, is also available through the Georgia Historic Newspapers database.
Database provider: Digital Library of Georgia.

Your Librarian