Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin America, Spain & Portugal: New Works in the Libraries: Lusophone World

The Libraries acquire newly published and older materials all during the year. This page highlights the most recently cataloged materials for Latin America, Spain, Portugal, and people from these areas currently living in the United States.

Portugal, Brazil & Portuguese-Speaking World

The titles below cover Iberia, Portugal, Brazil, and former African and Asian colonies of Portugal. Items are listed under the country or region covered in the work. Some titles may be listed multiple times.

Iberia & Portugal

Iberian Peninsula:

Revolutionary World: Global Upheaval in the Modern Age / edited by David Motadel, London School of Economics and Political Science. (Ebook available through GIL catalog) [Covers Iberia, Spain, Portugal, Haiti, and Iberian colonial possessions]

Literature and languages:

Selected Translations: Poems, 2000-2020 / Ilan Stavans, translator. (Ebook available through GIL catalog) [Includes poets from Uruguay, Guatemala, Venezuela, Mexico, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Brazil, Spain, Colombia, Chile, Cuba, and Portugal]

Portugal:

Auctarium Chartularii Universitatis Portugalensis: documentos / coligidos e publicados por A. Moreira de Sá. (Vol. 1: 1506-1516) (Folio LF4861 .A3 A9 1973) [Currently shelved at Repo]

A casa = The House: Manoel de Oliveira / conceção editorial, António Preto. (PN1998.3 .O44 M364 2019)

Género e transgressão: des/fazendo o masculino e o feminino em Portugal e no Reino Unido / Sara Merlini. (HQ18.55 .M47 2020)

História global de Portugal / direção Carlos Fiolhais, José Eduardo Franco, José Pedro Paiva. (DP538 .H57 2020)

No bicentenário da Revolução liberal / Vital Moreira, José Domingues. (Vol. 1: Da revolução à constituição, 1820-1822. Vol. 2: Os 40 dias que mudaram Portugal.) (DP650 .M67 2020)

Uma nova história do novo cinema português / Paulo Cunha. (PN1993.5 .P6 C85 2018)

Revolutionary World: Global Upheaval in the Modern Age / edited by David Motadel, London School of Economics and Political Science. (Ebook available through GIL catalog) [Covers Iberia, Spain, Portugal, Haiti, and Iberian colonial possessions]

Sexualidades, media e revolução dos cravos / Isabel Freire. (HQ18 .P8 F74 2020)

Literature and languages:

Os anos da vida de Ricardo Reis: (1887-1936) / Nuno Amado. (PQ9261 .P417 Z574 2019)

Cada um é muita gente: a esquizofrenia em Pessoa / Helena Barros. (PQ9261 .P417 Z578 2017)

Uma cartografia do olhar: exílios, imagens do estrangeiro e intertextualidades na literatura portuguesa / Dora Nunes Gago. (PQ9022 .E54 G34 2020)

O caso mental português / Fernando Pessoa; edição: Fernando Cabral Martins, Richard Zenith. (PQ9261 .P417 A6 2020)

Contra mim / Valter Hugo Mãe. (PQ9313 .A337 Z46 2020)

De errâncias e viagens poéticas em Jorge de Sena e Cecília Meireles / Susana L.M. Antunes. (PQ9261 .S337 Z56 2020)

Dias e dias / Adília Lopes. (PQ9274 .O538 D53 2020) [Portugal lit]

A educação dos gafanhotos: romance / David Machado. (PQ9313 .A32 E38 2020)

Estudos de linguística histórica: mudança e estandardização / Clarinda de Azevedo Maia, Isabel Almeida Santos (coords.). (PC5045 .C65 2017) [Portugal lit]

José Saramago: 20 anos com o Prémio Nobel / Carlos Reis (org.). (PQ9281 .A66 Z745 2020)

Livro de vozes e sombras: romance / João de Melo. (PQ9275 .E448 L58 2020)

A luz de Pequim / Francisco José Viegas. (PQ9284 .I2645 L89 2019)

Movimento / João Luís Barreto Guimarães. (PQ9269 .U434 M68 2020)

Outra forma de canto: entrevistas e textos de intervenção / Maria Gabriela Llansol; org. João Barrento. (PQ9274 .L36 Z46 2020)

Paz traz paz / Afonso Cruz. (PQ9303 .R89 P39 2019)

Poesia / Luís Miguel Nava; edição de Ricardo Vasconcelos. (PQ9276 .A84 V38 2020)

Primeiros contos e outros contos / Agustina Bessa-Luís; prefácio de Monica Baldaque. (PQ9261 .L758 A6 2020)

Rodopio / Mário Zambujal. (PQ9288 .A4 R63 2019)

Selected Translations: Poems, 2000-2020 / Ilan Stavans, translator. (Ebook available through GIL catalog) [Includes poets from Uruguay, Guatemala, Venezuela, Mexico, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Brazil, Spain, Colombia, Chile, Cuba, and Portugal]

Brazil

Brazil:

Beatriz Milhazes: Colagens = Collages / Frédéric Paul; interview, Richard Armstrong. (N6659 .M55 A6 2018)

A cor e a fúria: uma análise do discurso racial dos Racionais MC’s / Maik Antunes. (ML3575 .B75 A58 2018)

Democracia brasileira em foco: historiografia, atores e proposições / Américo Freire. (JL2431 .F746 2019)

Democracia e transição no Brasil 1973-1987: entre a conciliação e a ruptura, MDB/PMDB et PT / Sirlei Teresinha Gedoz. (F2538.25 .G43 2018)

Evangelização no Brasil / Paulo D. Siepierski. (BX4836 .B8 S54 1987)

Form and Feeling: The Making of Concretism in Brazil / Antonio Sergio Bessa. (ebook available through GIL catalog)

Fronteiras e territorialidades: miradas sul-americanas da Amazônia à Patagônia / Carlo Romani, Carla Menegat, Bruno Aranha, organizadores. (F2554 .A47 2019)

Guerreiras: (m’baima Miliguapy) mulheres indígenas na cidade; mulheres indígenas da aldeia / Aline Rochedo Pachamama (Churiah Puri). (F2519.3 .W66 R63 2020)

Histórias de índio / Daniel Munduruku; ilustrações, Laurabeatriz. (Curriculum Materials Library Juv F2520 .M85 2020)

Os homens explicam tudo para mim / Rebecca Solnit; imagens, Ana Teresa Fernandez; tradução, Isa Mara Lando. (HQ1155 .S667167 2017)

Inspirar amor à terra: uma história ambiental da colonização moderna no Brasil, o caso de Campo Mourão, Paraná, 1939-1964 / Ely Bergo de Carvalho. (HD1875 .C277 C379 2017)

Liquid Borders: Migration as Resistance / edited By Mabel Moraña. (Includes chapters: “Migration and the Aging Body: Elderly War Refugees in Brazil: Between Borders and Social Boundaries” by Bahia Munem.) (ebook available through GIL catalog)

A maior cidade pequena do mundo em linha reta / Mauro Rossiter, Frederico Toscano, Gil Luiz Mendes, Geraldo de Fraga, Franco Benites, Tiago da Rocha, Jr. Black, Gustavo Carvalho, Felipe Mendes, Nathália Deilú, Bernardo Wictor. (2 copies) (F2651 .R44 R67 2017)

Mulheres negras brasileiras: presença e poder: da exposição ao livro / Sandra R. Coleman, organizadora. (F2659 .N4 M85 2020)

Prazeres e pecados do sexo na história do Brasil / Paulo Sérgio do Carmo. (HQ18 .B6 C37 2019)

Reconstructing the Landscapes of Slavery: A Visual History of the Plantation in the Nineteenth-Century Atlantic World / Dale W. Tomich, Rafael de Bivar Marquese, Reinaldo Funes Monzote, Carlos Venegas Fornias. (ebook available through GIL catalog)

Toward a Global History of Latin America’s Revolutionary Left / edited by Tanya Harmer and Alberto Martín Álvarez. (“The Brazilian Far Left, Cuba, and the Sino-Soviet Split, 1963: New International Evidence on a Discordant ‘Struggle for Ascendancy’” by James G. Hershberg.) (ebook available through GIL catalog)

Três mulheres / Lisa Taddeo; tradução de Isabel Nunes e Helena Sobral. (HQ801 .T2233167 2019)

Trilhas literárias indígenas: para a sala de aula / Sueli de Souza Cagneti, Alcione Pauli. (F2519.3 .C65 C345 2015)

The Two Princes: Juan D. Perón and Getulio Vargas: A Comparative Study of Latin American Populism / Alejandro Groppo. (JA76 .G876 2010)

Literature and languages:

Apátridas / Alejandro Chacoff. (PQ9698.413 .H34 A62 2020)

Ato poético: poemas pela democracia / Marcia Tiburi e Luis Maffei (org.). (PQ9651 .A86 2020)

Corpos secos: um romance / Luisa Geisler, Marcelo Ferroni, Natalia Borges Polesso, Samir Machado de Machado. (PQ9698.417 .E47 C67 2020)

Desocidentada: experiência literária em terra indígena / Maria Inês de Almeida. (PQ9636 .I5 A45 2009)

Deus me disse que não existe / José Paulo Lanyi. (PQ9698.422 .A59 D48 2017)

Dramaturgia negra / organização, Eugênio Lima e Julio Ludemir; Aldri Anunciação [and fifteen others]. (PQ9665.7 .B54 D73 2019)

História do português brasileiro / Ataliba T. de Castilho (coordenador geral). (Added vol. 10: Dialetação e povoamento da história linguística à história social / Jânia M. Ramos, Marilza de Oliveira (coordenadoras).) (PC5442 .H47 2018)

Jeremy Fink e o sentido da vida / Wendy Mass; tradução Ana Ban. (Curriculum Materials Library Juv PZ73 .M283 2014)

Literatura fantástica & contos de fadas / André de Sena (org.). (PQ9522 .F35 L58 2018)

Um livro para Silviano Santiago: entre-lugares criticos e literarios / Edgar Cézar Nolasco, Pedro Henrique Alves de Medeiros (orgs.). (PQ9697 .S2732 Z74 2020)

O lugar do saber ancestral / Márcia Wayna Kambeba. (PQ9698.421 .A43 L84 2021)

A modernidade entre tapumes: da poesia social à inflexão neoclássica da lírica brasileira moderna / Vagner Camilo. (PN99 .B7 C25 2020)

Neorregionalismo brasileiro: análise de uma nova tendência da literatura Brasileira / Herasmo Braga de Oliveira Brito. (PQ9511 .B75 2017)

O que ela sussurra / Noemi Jaffe. (PQ9698.42 .A45 Q4 2020)

Ócios no oficio: antologia / org.: Karine Oliveira. (PQ9651 .O24 2020)

Olhar por entre grades, vidas em poemas / Andreia Beatriz. (PQ9698.412 .E17 O43 2020 – At bindery)

A ordem interior do mundo / Franklin Carvalho. (PQ9698.413 .A784 O72 2020)

A paixao mortal de Paulo / Rinaldo de Fernandes. (PQ9698.416 .E765 P34 2020)

Pele silenciosa, pele sonora: a literatura indígena em destaque / Janice Thiél. (PQ7081.7 .I55 T454 2012)

A pontuação do silêncio: uma análise discursiva da escritura de Clarice Lispector / Noeli Tejera Lisbôa. (PQ9697 .L585 Z89985 2020)

Português básico para estrangeiros / Sylvio Monteiro. (PC5074.5 .M65 1994)

Selected Translations: Poems, 2000-2020 / Ilan Stavans, translator. (Ebook available through GIL catalog) [Includes poets from Uruguay, Guatemala, Venezuela, Mexico, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Nicaragua, Brazil, Spain, Colombia, Chile, Cuba, and Portugal]

O sétimo casarão / Helena Gomes. (PQ9698.417 .O5434 S48 2018)

O som do rugido da onça / Micheliny Verunschk. (PQ9698.432 .E78 S66 2020)

Torturas de amor: contos de autores nordestinos baseados em clássicos da música Brega / Bruno Gaudêncio, organizador; autores, Adrienne Myrtes [and eleven others]. (PQ9676 .T67 2019)

Vasto mundo / Maria Valéria Rezende. (PQ9698.28 .E933 V3 2015)

Vista chinesa / Tatiana Salem Levy. (PQ9698.422 .E97 V57 2021)

Former Portuguese colonies (not Brazil)

Former Portuguese colonies (not Brazil):

Cuba and Africa, 1959-1994: Writing an Alternative Atlantic History / edited by Giulia Bonacci, Adrien Delmas and Kali Argyriadis. (ebook available through GIL catalog)

Filodramática: os PALOP, entre a filosofia e a crise de conciência histórica / Filomeno Lopes; prefácio de Roberto Mancini; posfácio de Ezio L. Bono. (Includes DVD) (DT36.7 .L67 2018)

Literature and languages:

Memória, cidade e literatura / Margarida Calafate Ribeiro, Francisco Noa (orgs.). (PQ9920 .M46 2019)

Os vivos e os outros: romance / José Eduardo Agualusa. (PQ9929 .A39 O88 2020)

Your Librarian

Laura Shedenhelm's picture
Laura Shedenhelm
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite