Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Language and Literature: Articles

EBSCO Multi-Search - articles and books

Search 90+ databases across the disciplines with Multi-Search.

An essential starting point due to its vast coverage of journal literature and multidisciplinary nature. Find scholarly and popular journal articles, many in full-text, as well as books drawn from the UGA Libraries catalog, GIL.

Features: 

  • Both simple (seen above) and advanced search forms.
  • By checking a box in the advanced search form it is possible to search the full text of articles that are available in Multi-Search.
  • The ability to filter search results (journals only, books only, peer-reviewed journals only, etc.)
  • Email, save and export search results.
  • Get alerts and RSS feeds of searches to keep up-to-date on recent research.

However, Multi-Search does not include every database to which we have access. See the box to the right for specific databases.

Article databases

MLA International Bibliography, 1926-present: The major source for locating scholarly articles and book chapters in literary criticism and language studies. The MLA DIrectory of Periodicals is also searchable through the top menu of this database.

JSTOR: A collection of full-text scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage begins with the journal's first issue, and JSTOR's "rolling wall" means the past 3-5 years are usually not available.

Project Muse: Like JSTOR, Project Muse is a collection of full-text scholarly journals in literature, the humanities, and some social sciences.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA is the most comprehensive database and the only one devoted entirely to linguistics. Important: LLBA is not included in Multi-Search, so search it separately through its own interface.

Google Scholar: A free resource. It is worth checking your search results against what you find in the databases above.

Revues.org: An open-access collection of journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.

Newspapers: For information on accessing newspapers such as Le Monde through the databases  Factiva and Nexis Uni, see the guide Newspapers at the UGA Libraries.

 

Your Librarian

Laura Shedenhelm's picture
Laura Shedenhelm
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite