Databases & Subject Guides: ENGL 1050H Davis: Databases and Resources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Literary Analysis Databases

The UGA Libraries subscribes to several databases which contain articles and books on the subject of literary analysis and literary themes. Often these articles are scholarly, peer reviewed research studies

MLA International Bibliography
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.

Included in Multi-Search. The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical to literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
Information about the periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography can be found under Browse Periodicals. You can browse or search by title or browse multiple keyword(s) and choose 'relevancy ranked' to find periodicals containing those keywords. Then click on the periodical title in the results list to see information about the periodical. This information comes from the MLA Directory of Periodicals and is updated annually. Note: Detailed information may not be available for every title covered.
LION (Literature Online)
Over 350,000 complete works of literature in English with complementary criticism and reference resources.

LION (Literature Online) is a full-text library of over 350,000 works of English-language poetry, drama and prose fiction. In addition to literary texts, LION includes the most up-to-date edition of ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), 1920 to present; 131 full-text journals; biographical sketches of major writers; the Bibliography of American Literature; and other reference works.
Literature Resource Center
A complete literature reference database featuring biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.
Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database, rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. It features:
- Contemporary Authors: selected entries

Time periods, contemporary issues and more

We have several databases which can help you do research about themes that are specific to the workplace or workplace psychology.

You can also look at publications from various time periods through newspaper and magazines in databases.

There also may be an academic book about your topic. Don't forget you have access to our Libraries collection of books!

Academic Search Complete

Business Source Complete

PsycINFO

Project Muse

Academic Books

The UGA Libraries has nearly 6 million books available for you to use. Some of these books are academic in nature, and some are popular. They don't all go through the same editorial process as scholarly research articles. When doing research, make sure the book you're using is rigorous. There are ways to do this:

1) Who published the book? If the book is published by a University Press, then it most likely went through an extensive editorial process.

2) Who wrote the book? Academic books are written by experts in a field. Don't know how to find this out? Google the name of the author or look at the bio blurb for the book. Are they a researcher in this subject? Are they affiliated with a University or Research institute?

3) What was the audience? Academic books are written for other academics, or for students studying a particular subject.

If it isn't a book published by an academic press, written by an expert in a field, and was written with other experts in mind, don't use the book for this assignment.