HIST 4445 Global Drug Trade (Dr. Yang): Primary Sources Special Collections

Before you visit...

Know the Rules
Most special collections and archives have some special rules for using materials that are different from visiting a library.  Generally, these rules  help keep the one-of-a-kind materials safe and accessible by  ensuring careful handling, by maintaining security, and by being responsive to the specific needs of a variety of formats. Special Collections Libraries have specific policies and procedures and its a good idea to check them out before you visit. Check out  Special Collections Research Policies and Procedures   

Place Your Order
You can browse and request the materials you want to view at special collections using your research account and the special collections databases.  During open hours there are staff members available in the  research lobby located on the third floor of special collections next to the elevators to help you with requesting.

• Learn more about how to request materials

What to Bring with You:

• A picture id
• Smart Phone or digital camera to take photos of documents you want to review in greater detail
• Laptop for notetaking (recommended)

What to Leave at Home

• Pens (Special Collections provides pencils and paper for notetaking.

While You Research

. 

Give yourself enough time to make progress.  It often takes a long time to go through all the materials that you hope are relevant to your topic. Plan to visit when you can spend at least an hour of concentrated work. Please note that the last call for making new requests for materials to be delivered to the reading room is 30 minutes before the reading room closes. 

Remember to gather citation information as you look through materials in the Russell Research Room.  This will save time with citations later. Note the following items:

• Name of Collection
• Name of the Series
• Name of the Folder
• Name of the Item

Palaeography: reading old handwriting
1500 - 1800
A practical online tutorial

Palaeography is the study of old handwriting. This web tutorial will help you learn to read the handwriting found in documents written in English between 1500 and 1800.

At first glance, many documents written at this time look illegible to the modern reader. By reading the practical tips and working through the documents in the Tutorial in order of difficulty, you will find that it becomes much easier to read old handwriting. You can find more documents on which to practise your skills in the further practice section.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/palaeography

UGA Special Collections Libraries maintains several databases that researchers can search using keywords related to their subject of  interest. The databases are all accessible via one page Searching Our Collections. These databases allow you to search for:

• unpublished materials (letters, diaries, reports, photos, etc...) in collection guides (finding aids)
• published materials (books, maps, and periodicals) held by Special Collections using the Libraries' catalog GIL
• av materials (film, video, and sound recordings from Brown Media Archives, Hargrett Library, and soon, Russell Library 
• oral histories (interviews that are part of archival collections and interviews conducted by UGA and others

Although all of the databases described above may yield useful materials, the unpublished materials database (aka the Finding Aids Database) will likely provide you with the bulk of sources for your paper research. Be prepared to try several different search terms to find the most and best materials related to your topic. 

• To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing this database, enter "drugs" into the finding aids search engine and browse the results. Click the link below to see the results for this search: 
  • https://sclfind.libs.uga.edu/sclfind/search?keyword=drugs&title=&creator=&year=&year-max=&publisher=*
• Now, try searching using a new keyword "narcotics." Click the link below to see the results for this search:  
  • https://sclfind.libs.uga.edu/sclfind/search?keyword=narcotics;publisher=*
• Next, try some other terms that might be related to your topic (see the list of keyword suggestions on this page. 
• For more advice about searching, visit the Tips and Tricks Page in this guide. 

What if you don't find what you want?  

• Brainstorm other terms that describe your topic. 
  • Remember, to think historically--what words did people use at the time to describe or discuss your topic? 
  • Remember think like a file clerk--what are some simple organizational strategies that you might use to organize files--alphabetical by contact's last name, chronological by name, functional arrangement--by the division or team in an office--for example, the public relations office files. 
• All of this brainstorming should give you some more terms to try. 
• ​​​​​​​Don't give up! Set up a research appointment with Jill Severn, or visit during her office hours on Monday afternoons 3-5 p.m. in the research lobby, 3rd floor, Special Collections Building.

• Drug-related keywords
  • drug*
  • narcotic*
  • addict
  • addiction
  • drug treatment
  • illegal drugs
  • drug trade
  • (drug) trafficker/ing
  • War on Drugs
  • DARE (acronym)
  • crack
  • crack cocaine
  • cocaine (other nicknames coke )
  • heroin (other nicknames
  • marijuana (other nicknames such as weed, ganja. etc...)
  • dope
  • Opioids (Oxy)
  • painkillers
  • sobriety
  • sober
  • clean
•  Alcohol-related keywords
  • liquor
  • spirits
  • beer, whiskey, rum, gin, etc...
  • alcohol
  • alcoholic
  • dry/wet
  • temperance
  • saloon
  • Carrie Nation
  • Alcoholics Anonymous
  • Women's Christian Temperance Union
  • prohibition
  • Carrie Nation
  • moonshine