Databases & Subject Guides: ENGL 1150H: Davis: Books and Articles

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Library Catalogs

GIL-Find: GIL-Find is the UGA Libraries' catalog for locating books, ebooks, and media in the Main Library, Science Library, and Special Collections.

When searching for literary criticism, use the "Advanced Search," choose "In subject" and search for your author by name.

For other topics, use the standardized Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate the most relevant books. Below are some sample subject headings:

American literature--Asian American authors

American poetry--African American authors

American drama-- Indian authors (for Native Americans)

American literature -- South Asian American authors (for authors from the subcontinent of India; also East Indian Americans)

Puerto Ricans in literature

Filipino Americans -- cultural assimilation

GIL-Find also allows you to search (and borrow from) the other libraries in the University System of Georgia -- just change the search option from "University of Georgia" to "University System of Georgia. You'll also need to sign in at the top right of the screen.

GIL Express

The GIL Express service allows you to request and borrow books from other University System of Georgia libraries. All currently enrolled students and currently employed faculty and staff in good standing at UGA Libraries are eligible to use GIL Express.

GIL Express books can be delivered to any participating library. Choose your preferred pickup location when placing your request. Most requests are ready for pickup within 4 business days.

https://www.libs.uga.edu/access-services/gil-express

InterLibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan helps UGA faculty, students, staff and eligible affiliates borrow and request items that are not available at UGA. We also supply materials owned by the UGA Libraries to other libraries, both nationally and internationally.

https://www.libs.uga.edu/ill

General Scholarly Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of articles on literature and criticism, history, art, and social sciences.
Project Muse is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Database provider: Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.

Special Subject Databases

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Articles with background information and competing viewpoints on topical issues.
Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. The content can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
Gender Watch focuses on the impact of gender on women's lives. It provides coverage on the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and workplace issues, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social and societal roles. It also includes resources on the impact of gender on the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, scholarship, health care and medicine, politics, religion, sex roles, sexuality, and sports.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism, author biographies, full-text articles, poems, and short stories.
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 300 literary journals; book reviews; 25,000 classic and contemporary poems; 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories; full text of over 7,500 classic novels; author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
Reference sources include:
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A complete literature reference database featuring biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.
Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database, rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. It features:
- Contemporary Authors: selected entries
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
Included in Multi-Search. The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical to literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
Information about the periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography can be found under Browse Periodicals. You can browse or search by title or browse multiple keyword(s) and choose 'relevancy ranked' to find periodicals containing those keywords. Then click on the periodical title in the results list to see information about the periodical. This information comes from the MLA Directory of Periodicals and is updated annually. Note: Detailed information may not be available for every title covered.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. International in scope, over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations are covered. Records added after 1974 contain nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Included in the database is the searchable Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on all aspects of music.
International Index to Music Periodicals covers nearly all aspects of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. It provides bibliographic citations from nearly 400 journals published in 20 countries. It also indexes the feature music articles and obituaries that appear in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles in art, drama, film, music, and dance.
Major magazines, trade journals, and scholarly journals in the visual and performing arts, many in full text.
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
The Oxford History of Western Music online is a major narrative resource which provides an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music which is derived from the 2009 print edition by Richard Taruskin. Internet Explorer 6.0 users: cookies
Oxford History of Western Music is a magisterial survey of the traditions of Western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time. This text illuminates, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age. Taking a critical perspective, this text sets the details of music, the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. Written by an authoritative, opinionated, and controversial figure in musicology, The Oxford History of Western Music provides a critical aesthetic position with respect to individual works, a context in which each composition may be evaluated and remembered. Taruskin combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, to illustrate how the music itself works, and how contemporaries heard and understood it. It also describes how the context of each stylistic period--key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events--influenced and directed compositional choices. [from Oxford University Press website]
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, popular, and industry articles on film and television.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text provides scholarly journal and magazine articles, film and television reviews, and selected book chapters on film and television criticism, history, theory, production, cinematography, and technological innovations.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.

Connect to Full-Text

If no PDF is available in the results, use the View It @ UGA link to connect to full-text articles provided by UGA Libraries.

An arrow points at a VIEW IT @ UGA link in the margin of Google Scholar results. Another arrow points at the >> icon under a book citation in Google Scholar.

For books, click on the arrow icon under each result. Then select Get It @ UGA to read or request.

An arrow points at the >> icon under a book citation in Google Scholar.

Your UGA Librarian

ENGL 1150H: Davis: Books and Articles

Culture and Communication in the Information Age