ANTH 4262/6262: Transitions from Foraging to Farming: Home

Introduction to Harvard Citation Style (Open University)

If we don’t have a book or article that you need, you can request we get the item:

GIL Express:  All of the University System of Georgia libraries share print books through a service called GIL Express.  If we don’t have a book you need, and another USG institution does, you can request the item be mailed to the Libraries.

Scanning services:  If we own a journal or book in print, we will scan in a book chapter or journal article and email it to you directly.

InterLibrary Loan:  We will get PDFs of journal articles and book chapters we don’t own for you to use.  You can all request print copies of books the Libraries does not own.

Purchase Requests:  Students can also make purchase requests for the collection.

Endnote and Refworks are the two citation managers we provide at UGA. They can be used to input citations into your Word documents and also to format your works cited page for your research papers all at the same time. The best part is they do this automatically for almost any citation style you could need!

Endnote is installed on one computer, and is downloaded directly to your computer.  All of your research citations and affiliated filmes would be saved to that computer.  If you like to keep all your research (including all pdfs, slideshows, etc) in one place (a laptop for example), then Endnote would be a good option.  Because it is a downloaded software, however, it does have a steeper learning curve for first time users.

RefWorks is a web-based service which allows you to access all of your research from any device with access to the internet (mobile devices, computers, etc.).  If you like the flexibility of the cloud and the ability to share your research with anyone, then RefWorks would be a good option.  As it is a cloud based solution, RefWorks is slightly easier to learn.  If you feel Endnote is too complex for you, RefWorks might be a better option.

• Create Endnote Account
• Create Refworks Account

If you want to learn more about either CMS, please take a look at our Citation Management Guide!

I am available to train you in either, so feel free to email or call me to set up a training session.  Both softwares are incredibly powerful, and are indispensible research tools.  I highly recommend integrating a citation management software into your research process.

AGRICOLA

Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.

Anthropology Plus *Best Bet*

Anthropology Plus is a compilation of the two major anthropology indexes: Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.

CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive This link opens in a new window

Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences.

Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF): Archaeology

Ethnographic and archaeological studies of world cultures.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text (formerly Dissertation Abstracts)

Dissertations and theses from academic institutions around the world, including UGA beginning with Fall 2019. Earlier UGA theses and dissertations are in the 'Electronic Theses & Dissertations' database.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) *Best Bet*

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. These databases may be searched separately, in any combination, or all at once.

OWL @ Purdue has a great site about how to write an Annotated Bibliography

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

Elements of a good Annotated Bibliography:

1) Bibliography according to the appropriate citation style (MLA, APA, CBE/CSE, etc.).
2) Explanation of main points and/or purpose of the work—basically, its thesis—which shows among other things that you have read and thoroughly understand the source.
3) Verification or critique of the authority or qualifications of the author.
4) Comments on the worth, effectiveness, and usefulness of the work in terms of both the topic being researched and/or your own research project.
Source: UNC Writing Center - Annotated Bibliography

We have a large number of books on this topic.  Click on "Books and More" on the Libraries homepage to search just our books.

Try a basic search.

Once you get your results, look for a book that matches your topic.  To get more books like this one, click on the book, and look at the Subject section of the record.  Click on the link that best describes your topic, and you will get back every book matching that topic.

Agriculture

Anthropology