POLS 4790 – Special Topics in American Politics: Home

Almanac of American Politics

- The Almanac of American Politics is a great resource for finding basic information about the political climates of US States.  

Atlanta Journal Constitution

Factiva:  Their News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers.  It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.

Duck Duck Go:  Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most.  This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read.  Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.

UGA Student Access to the Wall Street Journal

Access to New York Times via Athens Regional Library System

PolicyMap:  Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more.

Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

Request an eBook Purchase

Request a PDF of a Book Chapter or Journal Article

Top databases for academic research in Political Science

• Political Science Complete

  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

• ProQuest Political Science

  ProQuest Political Science covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for Political Science.

2) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

iPoll

- Archive of US Opinion Polls about all aspects of society.