The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work. Comprehensive entries include terms and concepts from all areas of the discipline with extensive bibliographies. See relevant articles: philosophy for children |childhood, the philosophy of | critical thinking | rights: of children
Call Number: Main Library 1st floor Reference B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 9780415073103
Publication Date: 1998
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy consists of ten volumes with over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national.
A comprehensive index and bibliography of books, journals, and journal articles in Philosophy. Also links to open access archives and personal pages for articles by academic philosophers.
PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
The Philosopher's Index,produced by the Philosophers Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Search 130+ GALILEO databases, the GIL@UGA Libraries Catalog and the Digital Library of Georgia for full-text articles, books and much more in a single streamlined search
GILFind Catalog of what the UGA Libraries own and where we keep it.
GIL Express: Catalog of libraries across the University System of Georgia; click "Request" to get a book from another library.
WorldCat: A global catalog of library collections. Find materials in libraries in your community or around the world.
Google Books and HathiTrust Digitized print collections from a number of major university libraries. Both are useful for mining the contents of books on library shelves. Most of the books from the 20th-21st century are still in copyright and can only be viewed in snippets online. You can still often view tables of contents and introductions as well as search for keywords within the book. Once you've identified a book you can use, search GIL-Find to see if UGA owns it.
Philosophy Companions & Guides
If you are looking for an introduction to a particular philosopher or philosophical topic, companions, guides, and handbooks cover key thinkers, concepts, and topics. Try searching the library catalog for these series:
