Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GradFirst Seminar: MIP: Background Information

Country Background Information and Analysis

Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!

Europa World: Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

CRS Reports

Legal Reports from the Law Library of Congress

NEW:  

Statista:  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

IMF eLibrary:  Contains documents published by the International Monetary Fund on all countries.

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

UN iLibrary:  Searchable database of UN reports organized by country and theme.

ProQuest Statistical Insight : Coverage ranges across many topics including income, production, retail and wholesale trade, interest rates, economic indicators, demographics, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.

UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.

For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website.  It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.

News Sources

Access World News:  Regional, national, and international news coverage.

Factiva:  Their News Pages offers a list of the current headlines from the most popular newspapers.  It is the easiest way to browse multiple newspapers at once without hitting a payall.

Duck Duck Go:  Google weights the news articles it shows you based on your previous search history and which websites you visit the most.  This can lead to bias in the types of news sources you read.  Duck Duck Go is a Google-like search engine that anonymizes you so that you get unweighted results when you search.

Free access to the Wall Street Journal through UGA.

Free access to the New York Times through Athens Regional Library.

Reference Books

  • Search Libraries catalog for encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries
  • Filter online materials by checking "Access Online"