Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1101: English Composition I (Anand): Genre 3

Finding Scholarly Sources

For your Genre 3 assignment, you will need at least seven scholarly resources. Below are good places to search:

Multi-Search lets you search 180 of the library's databases at once. After running a search, be sure to use the post-search filter for "Academic Journals," "Books," or "Ebooks." Multi-Search is the default search box on the library homepage.

GIL Find is the catalog for books, ebooks, and other items in the Main, McBay Science, Special Collections, and other UGA libraries except the Law Library. Sign in to request that books be delivered to a more convenient campus library and renew your books online. Change the search scope from UGA to request books from other University System of Georgia Libraries through a service called GIL Express.

Additional databases are listed under the Research by Subject link on the Libraries' homepage. Relevant databases for this assignment might include:

Ethnic Newswatch for articles about ethnic groups and cultures; use the filter to limit results to scholarly journals. 

Genderwatch for articles about gender in cultural, social, and historical context; use the filter to limit results to scholarly journals.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index for scholarly articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US.

ATLA Religion Index Database for articles and Encyclopedia of Religion for scholarly encyclopedia entries. See the Religion guide for more specialized databases about major religions.

Sociological Abstracts for research publications in the field of sociology.

Anthrosource for scholarly journals in the field of anthropology.

Identifying Scholarly Sources

Comparing types of sources:

  • Scholarly (also known as academic) articles and books are written by experts for students and researchers. They normally include original research or arguments, assume the reader has some knowledge of the topic, and include a bibliography or list of works cited. Although many scholarly sources go through a peer review process, not all do. 
  • Magazine and newspaper articles and popular books are written for a general audience by journalists or authors whose work has been reviewed by an editor.
  • Trade or professional articles or books are written by practitioners in a field to impart practice-oriented information.
  • Websites and blogs may be written by anyone for any level of audience. Websites may be scholarly or not; it is up to you to evaluate their quality and credibility. Look for the characteristics below to determine whether a website is scholarly.

Key considerations in identifying scholarly sources:

Author: Is it written by a scholar or researcher with expertise in this field instead of a journalist or freelance writer? What are their credentials?

Evidence: Does the author cite sources? 

Language: Is it easy to read or dense? Is the tone personal and conversational, or formal? 

Audience: Is it meant for a general audience, or do you need a certain level of expertise to understand the content?

Chat with a Librarian