EDAP 9035 Prospectus Development in Education Administration & Policy (DeBray): Finding Articles

Please note--If you created accounts in any EBSCO databases, you will need to update them. Follow these VERY EASY directions from the Libraries Homepage--EBSCOHost Account and Folder Changes  This will update all your databases in EBSCO, so you needn't do each one separately. 

_______________________________

Go to the Libraries Homepage  and then to the right. You can start with the Subject Guides to get an overview on your subject area. You can also search alphabetically. It's probably easier to start with the subject guides.

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete. Public Administration Abstracts. Public Affairs Index  and APA PsycInfo, consider your other options listed in the subject guides. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest) by selecting "choose databases" and then clicking OK.

For information geared to the South, please consider SREB--Southern Regional Education Board (fulltext)

New Georgia Encyclopedia (full-text)

Academic Search Complete A good general purpose database which searches in both scholarly and the popular press

We have an entire "family" of databases in both the EBSCO and ProQuest collections. You can search more than one database at a time by clicking on "select /choose databases".  Here are a few to get you started (EBSCO)

For Sociology consider SocIndex, Sociological Abstracts and the Sociological Collection

We have the 2008 edition of SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods and Sage Reference Online available in GALILEO.

Here are additional databases for public administration: Public Administration Abstracts and Public Affairs Index

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & APA PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest) by selecting "choose databases" and then clicking OK.

We have the 2008 edition of SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods and Sage Reference Online available in GALILEO.

Web of Science only indexes scholarly materials, so you won't have to limit your results to get them. It's heavily tilted toward the "hard" sciences, but is getting increasing coverage for the social sciences as well. One of the cool features of this database is that you can sort your results by "number of times cited". This is great way to discover articles that are heavily used in your field. 

• Search for author by last name [no comma] first initial [no period] asterisk.  Your search will look like this bergmann c* The asterisk finds variations of middle names.
• As with other databases, use the asterisk to expand your search and
• combine terms you are willing to interchange by keeping them in the same search box, joining them with OR--stutter* OR fluency
• On the results page, look to the left and under "Document Types" you may find "Review". A review article is a giant lit review. If it doesn't appear at first, use the "more options" button to see if there are any. This is good way to get a good overview of the lit. You can also sort your results by "times cited" to see what's "hot". Save your results by clicking on the box to the left of your results. BE CERTAIN THAT YOU ADD THE RESULTS TO "MARKED LIST". If you fail to do this, your materials won't be saved. Then you'll be sad.....
• 

:

If a GALILEO database doesn't have the full text of your article, these are your options:

• The button will lead you to the fulltext in another database.
• If UGA only has the article in print, distance students can request a free pdf copy.
• If UGA doesn't own an article in print or online, request a free copy through Interlibrary Loan.

Another good place to look for materials is in Google Scholar. Use the Libraries' Homepage find the link to Google Scholar. Entering Google Scholar through our page will link you to our holdings.

Remember: If we don't own what you need, TALK TO INTERLIBRARY LOAN. They will track down what you need ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD and get you what you need for free. NEVER PAY FOR LIBRARY MATERIALS UNTIL YOU'VE TALKED TO INTERLIBRARY LOAN. EVER.

Here is a list of some helpful Google Scholar search tips:

• Use Quotations to search for a phrase: “no child left behind”
• Use Parentheses to group words to show the relationship between concepts:(chemical warfare) (Syria OR Iraq)
• Use a hyphen to exclude a word: apple –computer
• Use a tilde to search for synonyms of a word:  ~stop
• Use author: to limit your search to results by a specific author: qualitative study author: hawkins
• Use filetype: to find results with a specific file type: flu vaccine filetype: pdf
• Use intext: to require a word to appear anywhere in your results: doping “major league baseball”  intext: congress
• Use allintext: to require multiple words to appear anywhere in your results: allintext: autism vaccine controversy
• Use intitle: to require a word to appear in the titles of your results: alaska intitle: superfund
• Use allintitle: to require multiple words to appear in the title of your results: allintitle: Alaska superfund cleanup

Searching for Articles by Methodology

Most databases don't have a direct way to search for journal articles by methodology.  However, a keyword search that combines a methodological term with your topic term(s) is usually effective. For example:

If this retrieves no results, try a broader methodological term:

You can search several relevant methodologies simultaneously by connecting the terms with "OR".  Use an asterisk as a truncation symbol, so you can find all versions of a root word (i.e. theor* finds theory, theories, theoretical, etc.)  For example:

Finding an Article by Citation

f you have a citation in hand, the library homepage can take you to the full text. Here's how:

From the Libraries' Homepage type the JOURNAL TITLE in the  E-Journals by Title search box. ALWAYS search for the title of the JOURNAL and not the article.

The resulting page will tell you if  we have that title electronically,

Click the link to see what is available electronically & where & for what years

But what if you need other years, which may be in print? Go back to GIL and do the advanced search:

You've already seen the information for the online version. Here's the second entry FROM THE GIL CATALOG (NOT THE E-JOURNALS TAB)--

Click on the "Available" link to see what years we IN PRINT. It's quaint, but sometimes just what you need:

• Last Updated: Jan 25, 2021 11:35 AM
• URL: https://guides.libs.uga.edu/c.php?g=1114819
•  Print Page

Login to LibApps

Report a problem.

Tags: "College of Education", course-guide, early adolesdence, EDMG 9090, hughes