It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, ARTStor images, and more, plus citations to books and media in the UGA Libraries. Using the Advanced Search feature will allow you to better shape your search. For example searching "classical ballet" AND technique* will give you results related to classical ballet techniques.
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Full text research tool for the study of theater and the performing arts.
Included in Multi-Search. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD) contains articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. Many are in full text. International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text includes nearly 100 journal titles and over 120 full-text books not included in Academic Search Complete.
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
Included in Multi-Search. The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical to literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals is now part of the MLA International Bibliography. Included is information on the periodicals that are indexed in the database, plus many more. The Directory of Periodicals data is updated annually.
Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Finding Dance Reviews and Criticism
New York Times - digitized newspaper with full-page images (2008-recent: delayed 3 months). Search "Dance Review" in the search box to get results for the Dance Review section.
Streaming dance videos of performances, documentaries, interviews, and instruction.
Provides streaming video content covering the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies. The diverse content supports a wide range of courses, from dance history and dance appreciation to choreography, dance composition, and improvisation.
Collection of digital images for art and architecture studies. Note: To download images, users must register for a free personal login. Searching and viewing images does not require an individual login.
The ARTstor Digital Library offers more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Chronicling the art of dance in all its manifestations—ballet, ethnic, modern, social, and folk—the division is much more than a library in the usual sense of the word. Has extensive digitization of dance images, video, and audio.
Citing a live performance in MLA format
"Title of work". By author or composer's name, Choreographer, Performer, The dance company, the theater, location, Date of the performance.
"The Nutcracker" By Peter Ilyich Tchaicovsky, Choreographed Mikko Nissinen, Boston Ballet, Boston Opera House, Boston, 15 Dec. 2018.