Skip to main content

POLS 4605 (Hitefield): The Politics of Congressional Elections: Home

Research Consultations

If you have questions about using these resources, please feel free to email me at elizabethwhite@uga.edu.  I'm also available for virtual meetings by appointment.

Georgia Congressional Elections

Political Science Research Databases

Besides newspaper databases, we have access to databases of political science research and trade articles.

For this assignment I recommend ProQuest Political Science.  It indexes trade publications like Roll Call, as well as research publications like The American Political Science Review.  It also indexes doctoral dissertations.

Georgia Newspapers

Access World News contains recent archives of Georgia newspapers, including the AJC (1985-present).  The dates available depend on the newspaper.  This link allows you to search their entire collection of Georgia Newspapers.

The Atlanta Journal Constitution Full Text has historic access from 1986-1984

We have a list of other Georgia newspapers and their online availability in this guide:  https://guides.libs.uga.edu/c.php?g=349867&p=2362317.

The Georgia Historical Newspaper Project has digitized copies of some small, local publications as well: https://gahistoricnewspapers.galileo.usg.edu/.  

National Newspapers

Often there are multiple databases for searching a single newspaper.  This is due to different date ranges offered by different products.  

New York Times - 1980 to present

Washington Post:

Wall Street Journal:

Finding Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the  button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;
  • If we do not have access to the article online, you have two options:
    • If we do have it in print, but not online, fill out this form and we will scan the article in for you
    • If we do not have access to the article at all, fill out this form and InterLibrary Loan will find a copy for you

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website