Bioinformatics: GALILEO Databases

These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.

The Biomedical Science Suite is further subdivided as Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell and Developmental Biology, Ecology and Systematics, Entomology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology, Psychology, and Public Health.

The Physical Science Suite is further subdivided as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Materials Science, Nuclear and Particle Science, and Physical Chemistry.

The Social Science Suite is further subdivided as Anthropology, Energy and Environment, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology.

BioMed Central can also be searched for abstracts and citations. The full text of articles is available for those articles marked Free or Open Access. Those marked Subscription are not available from BioMed Central, but may be available via the 'FindIt@UGA' button.

Database provider: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, Internet Database Service (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine).

These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.