Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLS 2000: Home

Introduction to Political Science

Academic Encyclopedias

Culture wars in America : an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices (2014) Connect to title online

The Encyclopedia of Political Science (2011) Connect to title online

Encyclopedia of Politics : the left and the right / (2005)

Main Library 6th floor

Call number: JA61 .E54 2005

Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History (2009) Connect to title online

Presidential campaigns, slogans, issues, and platforms (2012) Connect to title online

Link to all of our encyclopedias in the catalog

Statistics

We have several databases which contain basic data on many aspects of American life.

PolicyMap:  Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more.

ProQuest Statistical Insight: Statistics published by the U.S. government and other agencies.

Social Explorer: Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present, includes Census and American Community Surveys.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013- (Proquest): Compilation of social, political, and economic statistics of the United States.  

PDF Scans, GIL Express, and InterLibrary Loan

REQUESTING PDF SCANS

You can request pdf scans of book chapters and print articles which already reside in our collection.  Simply fill out this form.

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Multi-disciplinary databases

Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;

 

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 1/3 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

1) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.

3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not.  Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.

 

 

Finding Political Science Research

We have databases specifically containing research for Political Science.  You can also look up the research of different modern political scientists here.  To avoid wading through articles you don't need, I recommend starting here first.

Political Science Complete:  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

If you click on "Advanced Search" you can search by a specific author (use the drop down menu next to the search box to change what you're searching).  You can also limit by Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) research.

A second database for Political Science is ProQuest Political Science.  It searches a bit more broadly, and includes news articles.

 

Finding Books

You can also search for books and other print materials at the UGA Libraries.  Simply click on "Books & More" button underneath the Multi-Search button.  If you want books specific about the topic you're researching, try limiting to "Subject" from the drop down menus.

Your Librarian