Consumers, Industries, & Demographics
Mintel Reports: Consumer market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, demographic segments & lifestyles. Reports cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. New reports are added ongoing and many reports are updated periodically. Mintel Reports Video Tutorial
Note: To fully utilize the functionality of Mintel Reports, you can create a profile and sign-in after you have opened up Mintel Reports. Profile creation and sign-in only works from on-campus locations This step is not necessary for most uses of Mintel Reports.
Statista: Statistics drawn from many sources covering a wide range of topics including industries, products, markets. Lots of international content. Statista Video Tutorial
MRI Simmons Insights: Consumer survey on product buying behavior and media habits of a sample of about 25,000 U.S. adults. It offers the capability to cross-tabulate demographic characteristics with types of brands and products. Note: the sample available to UGA is always about 3 years old. MRI Simmons Crosstab Video Tutorial
IBISWorld: Reports covering 1,000+ U.S. industries. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Note: UGA does not have access to the U.S. Company Benchmarking reports.
Social Explorer: U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports using data from the Census Bureau and elsewhere.
PolicyMap: Data and mapping application that provides access to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education, and more.
Companies & advertising expenditures
NAICS code lookup tool: To find the correct industry code(s) for companies that might manufacture or sell a product type.
Mergent Intellect: Global coverage of public and private companies. U.S. consumer demographics and lifestyle data including Nielsen Prizm reports. First Research industry reports and key business ratios (requires UGA email address to access).
Data Axle: Information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. The custom search tab provides multiple ways to retrieve a list of potential competitors including business type, size, and geography. Includes radius searching. Data Axle Video Tutorial
PrivCo: U.S. private company data resource providing key financial data, the number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity-backed, M&A history, and competitor lists. The amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database.
Vivvix 360:Advertising expenditures to the brand and product level across many media categories including several online categories, TV, magazines, newspapers, et al. Coverage is most recent 8+ years. More than 200 U.S. geographic segments. Five simultaneous users. Hint: Click the 'Explore' option in the left margin to pull data.
Business articles
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership: Free access to the Wall Street Journal for UGA students, faculty & staff. Covers WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, WSJ+, and subscriber-only podcasts and videos. Coverage includes the past four years up to today's content. **YOU MUST USE YOUR UGA EMAIL ADDRESS TO REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT at this link .**
Factiva: Combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 news wires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted. Factiva Search Builder Video Tutorial
Business Source Complete: Peer-reviewed business-related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics. Additionally, non-journal content includes SWOT reports, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and more.
ABI Inform: Similar to Business Source Complete, some content from different providers, so it can be worthwhile to check both resources!
