Guide to Resources - MUSI 5420 - Influence of Music on Behavior - GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides at University of Georgia

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Books

Guided Imagery and Music (GIM) and Music Imagery Methods for Individual and Group Therapy This is the first book to systematically describe the range of approaches used in music imagery and Guided Imagery and Music across the lifespan, from young children through to palliative care with older people. Covering a broad spectrum of client populations and settings, international contributors present various adaptations of the Bonny Method of Guided Imagery to accommodate factors such as time restraints, context (including hospitals, schools, and the wider community), client symptomology, and the increasing use of more contemporary music. Each chapter presents a different model and includes background information on the client group, the type of approach, elements of approach (including length of the session, choice of music, verbal interventions during the music, and discussion of the experience), and theoretical orientation and intention. A nomenclature for the range of approaches is also included. This information will be a valued guide for both practitioners and students of Guided Imagery and Music and receptive methods of music therapy.
ISBN: 9781849054836
Publication Date: 2015-05-21
Handbook of Neurologic Music Therapy by Michael H. Thaut (Editor); Volker Hoemberg (Editor) Neurologic Music Therapy (NMT) is a form of music therapy developed for people suffering from cognitive, sensory, or motor dysfunctions - arising from neurological diseases of the nervous system. People who can benefit from this therapy include sufferers from: stroke, traumatic brain injury, Parkinson's and Huntington's disease, cerebral palsy, Alzheimer's disease, autism, and other neurological diseases affecting cognition, movement, and communication (e.g., MS, Muscular Dystrophy, etc). The Handbook of Neurologic Music Therapy is a comprehensive landmark text presenting a new and revolutionary model of music in rehabilitation, therapy and medicine that is scientifically validated and clinically tested. Each of the 20 clinical techniques is described in detail with specific exercises, richly illustrated and with pertinent background information regarding research and clinical diagnoses. The book is a 'must have' for all neurologic music therapists and those who want to become one, clinicians, university faculty, and students alike. Physicians and therapists from other disciplines will find this tome an important guide to provide new insight how music can contribute significantly to brain rehabilitation and how Neurologic Music Therapists can be effective interdisciplinary providers in patient care.
ISBN: 1322221413
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Improvising in Styles by Colin Lee; Marc Houde Though improvisation is a therapeutic method that has been known and used in many settings, there are only a few published practical guides on how to learn to clinically improvise. This book aims to redress this gap by providing a comprehensive workbook specifically designed to give music therapists the tools needed to successfully improvise in their work. Each chapter focuses on a different style of music and begins with a discussion of its historical/musicological context and relevance to music therapy. Then follow exercises for solo and duet practice that are built on each relevant aesthetic and musical component of the style. Two accompanying CDs provide examples from the text that serve to demonstrate beginning ideas and how to formulate the exercises presented.
ISBN: 9781891278587
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The Music Effect by Dorita S. Berger; Daniel J. Schneck Music is well known to have a significant effect on physiology and is widely used as an effective therapeutic tool in stress and pain management, rehabilitation, and behavior modification, but its effects are not well understood. This book explains what 'music' is, how it is processed by and affects the body, and how it can be applied in a range of physiological and psychological conditions. Rhythm, melody, timbre, harmony, dynamics, and form, and their effects on the body are explored in detail, helping practitioners create effective therapy interventions that complement other treatment systems. Case studies and evidence from research and practice show how music therapy can benefit people with autistic spectrum disorders, Down syndrome, schizophrenia, and sensory difficulties, among other conditions. The Music Effect is an essential resource for music therapists, clinicians, educators and anyone with an interest in holistic therapy.
ISBN: 9781843107712
Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Music in the Human Experience by Donald Hodges; David Conrad Sebald All human societies in every corner of the globe engage in music. For many, it occupies a primary role. Taken collectively, these musical experiences are widely varied, hugely complex affairs. How did human beings come to be musical creatures? How and why do our bodies respond to music? Why do people have emotional responses to music? This textbook seeks to understand and explain these phenomena that are at the core of what it means to be a human being. Music in the Human Experience: An Introduction to Music Psychologyis a textbook for college courses in music psychology, primarily geared to students of music.  It incorporates several other disciplines to provide an explanation for why and how we make sense of music and respond to it, cognitively, physically, and emotionally. Features Comprehensive Coverage--Includes philosophical issues, biomusic, anthropology, ethnomusicology, acoustics, hearing, music perception and cognition, psychophysiological responses to music, emotional responses, music and the brain, personality, identity, music performance, learning theories, music and health, and social aspects of music. Media Tutorials--A series of 32 narrated media presentations incorporating photographs, drawings, animations, recordings of singers, instrumentalists, and ensembles, and several interactive media files that illustrate key concepts of the text. Pedagogical Aids--Discussion questionsat the end of each chapter provide teachers and students with an opportunity to reflect on key concepts presented in the text and to consider ideas, such as how information applies to their musical lives and careers. In addition, there is an extensive glossary and Companion Website with brief quizzes, flash cards of key terms, and supplemental reading lists. amp;lt;/STRONG>Includes philosophical issues, biomusic, anthropology, ethnomusicology, acoustics, hearing, music perception and cognition, psychophysiological responses to music, emotional responses, music and the brain, personality, identity, music performance, learning theories, music and health, and social aspects of music. Media Tutorials--A series of 32 narrated media presentations incorporating photographs, drawings, animations, recordings of singers, instrumentalists, and ensembles, and several interactive media files that illustrate key concepts of the text. Pedagogical Aids--Discussion questionsat the end of each chapter provide teachers and students with an opportunity to reflect on key concepts presented in the text and to consider ideas, such as how information applies to their musical lives and careers. In addition, there is an extensive glossary and Companion Website with brief quizzes, flash cards of key terms, and supplemental reading lists. Website with brief quizzes, flash cards of key terms, and supplemental reading lists.
ISBN: 9780415881869
Publication Date: 2010-12-08
The Oxford Handbook of Music Therapy by Jane Edwards (Editor) Music therapy is growing internationally to be one of the leading evidence-based psychosocial allied health professions, meeting needs right across the lifespan. Music therapy is a relational therapy in which the therapist and client collaborate to discover how music can be used to strengthen positive relating skills, attending to the client's immediate and longer term needs through assessment, treatment planning, implementation, and evaluation of a music therapy programme. Music therapy is based upon the capacity of music provided by a trained and qualified practitioner to support, integrate, and heal trauma, pain, psychological distress, and to develop and extend the existing capacities of the client. In the Oxford Handbook of Music Therapy, international leaders in the field from 10 countries have contributed their expertise to showcase contemporary music therapy. They share knowledgable perspectives from multiple models of music therapy that have developed throughout the world, including Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy, The Field of Play, Community Music Therapy, and Resource Oriented Music Therapy. There is extensive information provided as to how music therapists practice and with whom, as well as the techniques used in music therapy individually and in groups, the research basis for the work, and professional and training issues in the field. The book is clearly laid out in five sections; contexts and populations, models and approaches, methods and techniques, research methods, and training and professional issues. Course materials can be structured around the book, or the book can be used as a starting point for students' learning about a model or population. Music therapy students will enjoy the clear descriptions of practice, the clinical vignettes, and the helpful pointers and tips for developing placement work. Unequalled in depth and breadth, this landmark publication is an essential resource for those starting out in Music Therapy, as well as for experienced practitioners.
ISBN: 9780199639755
Publication Date: 2016-03-14
Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology by Susan Hallam (Editor); Ian Cross (Editor); Michael Thaut (Editor) The field of Music Psychology has grown dramatically in the past 20 years, to emerge from being just a minor topic to one of mainstream interest within the brain sciences. However, until now, there has been no comprehensive reference text in the field.The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology is a landmark text providing, for the first time ever, a comprehensive overview of the latest developments in this fast-growing area of research. With contributions from over fifty experts in the field, the range and depth of coverage is unequalled. All the chapters combine a solid review of the relevant literature with well-reasoned arguments and robust discussions of the major findings, as well as original insights and suggestions for future work. Written by leading experts, the 52 chapters are divided into 11 sections covering both experimental and theoretical perspectives, each edited by an internationally recognised authority Ten sections each present chapters that focus on specific areas of music psychology:- the origins and functions of music- music perception- responses to music- music and the brain- musical development- learning musical skills- musical performance- composition and improvisation- the role of music in our everyday lives - music therapy and conceptual frameworks In each section, expert authors critically review the literature, highlight current issues, and explore possibilities for the future. The final section examines how in recent years the study of music psychology has broadened to include a range of other scientific disciplines. It considers the way that the research has developed in relation to technological advances, fostering links across the field and providing an overview of the areas where the field needs further development in the future.The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology will be the essential reference text for students and researchers across psychology and neuroscience.
ISBN: 9780199298457
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
This Is Your Brain on Music by Levitin A fascinating exploration of the relationship between music and the mind-and the role of melodies in shaping our lives Whether you load your iPod with Bach or Bono, music has a significant role in your life-even if you never realized it. Why does music evoke such powerful moods? The answers are at last be- coming clear, thanks to revolutionary neuroscience and the emerging field of evolutionary psychology. Both a cutting-edge study and a tribute to the beauty of music itself, This Is Your Brain on Music unravels a host of mysteries that affect everything from pop culture to our understanding of human nature, including: . Are our musical preferences shaped in utero? . Is there a cutoff point for acquiring new tastes in music? . What do PET scans and MRIs reveal about the brain's response to music? . Is musical pleasure different from other kinds of pleasure? This Is Your Brain on Music explores cultures in which singing is considered an essential human function, patients who have a rare disorder that prevents them from making sense of music, and scientists studying why two people may not have the same definition of pitch. At every turn, this provocative work unlocks deep secrets about how nature and nurture forge a uniquely human obsession.
ISBN: 9780786584055
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Keyword Tips

The search terms you use determine the results your search will yield. Engaging in an exercise like the one described below should help you choose an effective set of search terms for your search:

1. Express your topic in a topic sentence: “What effect does music listening have on emotion in children?”

2. Generate keyword search terms by identifying the main ideas or concepts within that topic sentence: “What effect does music have on emotion?” = Effect; Music, Listening, Emotion, or Music Listening; and Children

3. Expand your search terms by brainstorming related terms or synonyms that describe your main ideas:

Music – aural stimuli, sound
Emotion - affect, mood
Effect – influence
Children - youths, youngsters, boys, girls

Search tips in this box provided by University of Pittsburgh Library System.

Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to the literature of nursing and allied health with full text.
CINAHL provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included. Print index covers 1977- .
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Index to articles on all aspects of music.
International Index to Music Periodicals covers nearly all aspects of music from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. It provides bibliographic citations from nearly 400 journals published in 20 countries. It also indexes the feature music articles and obituaries that appear in The New York Times and The Washington Post.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some articles are available in full text. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries. The historic portion of the database comes from from three sources: Psychological Abstracts (1927-1966), Psychological Bulletin (1921-1926), and all journals published by the American Psychological Association plus the American Journal of Psychology from the first issue of volume 1, number 1 in November 1887.
Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 60,000 references are added annually.

PsycINFO online help:

PsycINFO Search Help/Training Center includes Search Tips and How-To's and a search guide specific to the EBSCOhost interface.
The APA also offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals on all the sciences, including the social sciences.
ScienceDirect provides full text access to scholarly journals published by Elsevier and its subsidiaries.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences with links to full text.
PubMed is the publicly available version of MEDLINE and combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. PubMed includes citations to articles from 1966 to the present and links from citations to full-text articles from 100 journals 1990 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

MUSI 5420 - Influence of Music on Behavior: Guide to Resources

_

Books

Keyword Tips

Search String Generator

Journals

Databases