Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

ICON 8002 Dr. German FA 2025: Home

Resources for investigating primary source materials in archives related to cultural burning by Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians

Welcome

About this Guide 
This resource guide will provide some tips for thinking about searching in archival collections for materials related to  EBCI cultural burning. The guide also provides to links for digital collection sites that may prove useful in this research.  This guide also provides general information about visiting and researching at UGA special collections.  

Jill Severn Archivist

Profile Photo
Jill Severn
she/her/hers
Contact:
Richard B. Russell Building Special Collections Libraries
300 South Hull St.
706-542-5766
Website

Research Assistance

Special Collections Library staff are available to assist you during the open hours of the Russell Library:

  • Monday/Wednesday/Friday:
    • 8-12
    • 1-5 p.m.
  • Tuesday/Thursday: 
    • ​​​​​​​8-12
    • 1-7 p.m.

If you want to meet with Jill Severn:

  • You can usually meet with her during office hours on Monday afternoons from 3-5 p.m. at  the reference desk on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Building.
  • If want to meet at another time, contact her at russlib@uga.edu. 
    • (Please allow 24 hours for a response.) 

Visit

Visit Special Collections

The Richard B. Russell Building is located at 300 South Hull Street.  The UGA EAST-WEST bus stops right in front of the building.

Here is a map:


View University of Georgia Special Collections Libraries Building in a larger map