Skip to main content

Archival Research: Political Parties at the Richard B. Russell Library: Home

A guide for researching political parties at the Richard B. Russell Library.

Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies

About the Russell Library

The Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies at the University of Georgia Libraries was established in 1974. The Library’s original mission was to collect and preserve materials that documented the late Richard B. Russell, United States Senator from Georgia from 1933 to 1971. The Russell Library has grown over the years as a center for research and study of the modern American political system, with particular emphasis on the role of Georgia and the increasingly diverse people, events, and ideas that shape Georgia’s modern political landscape.

The Russell Library holds more than 300 collections of papers of post-1900 elected officials, political appointees, and individuals and groups representing, persuading, or observing the political and public policy processes in Georgia and the nation. These collections include the personal papers of numerous federal and state appointees, members of Congress, governors, state legislators, judges, elected officials, political activists and observers, and the records of the state Democratic and Republican parties, the Georgia Public Policy Foundation, Leadership Georgia, the ACLU Chapter of Georgia, and the Athens-Clarke County League of Women Voters.

About the Guide for Researching Political Parties

The Archival Research: Political Parties at the Richard B. Russell Library guide aims to focus your research in our collections on materials and collections most closely related or linked to the two major political parties in the state of Georgia: the Georgia Republican Party and the Democratic Party of Georgia. Because the Russell Library houses over 300 political collections, this guide highlights only those collections that contain records related specifically to the political parties' activities and organization and individuals' roles within these organizations and their affiliates. We hope that it helps you organize your own research and leads you to some rewarding materials.

Guide Index

Home   Find out some basic information about this guide and the Richard B. Russell Library.

Researching Political Parties   A page that offers some tips and advice for helping you research political parties in a political library.

Georgia Republican Party   This page contains information about the Georgia Republican Party and related collections and materials found at the Russell.

Democratic Party of Georgia   This page contains information about the Democratic Party of Georgia and related collections and materials found at the Russell.

Oral Histories   This page contains links to particular interviews that make up the Reflections on Georgia Politics Oral History Collection at the Russell.

Subject Guide