Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

Statistical Information & Data: RAW Data

A guide to mining Social Science Stats & Data at the UGA Libraries

R Statistical Analysis Software

R is available to download for free here. It's also on UGA vLab.

LEARNING R:

SAS Statistical Analysis Software

To access SAS software you will need to use the special access Data Services workstations in the Main Reference room. If you need assistance with accessing SAS, please contact the Social Science Data Reference Librarian at sdevaney@uga.edu or 706-542-8708.

LEARNING SAS:

SPSS Statistical Analysis Software

SPSS is available via the Virtual Computing Lab. (UGA vLAB)

LEARNING SPSS:

STATA Statistical Analysis Software

Stata is available via the Virtual Computing Lab. (UGA vLab)

LEARNING Stata:

Qualtrics Survey Tool

Collect your own data using Qualtrics, a powerful, research-grade survey construction and data collection/evaluation tool that is available to the UGA community.

Primary Data and Secondary Data: The Difference

What's the difference between Primary and Secondary Data?

Primary data is data a researcher has collected him/herself to address his/her specific research questions.

Secondary data is existing data that was collected by one party (e.g., another researcher, a government agency, etc.) and is then made available to other researchers for use in addressing their own research questions - i.e., the various datasets linked from this page.

Data and Statistics: The Difference

What's the difference between Data and Statistical Information?

Data is the raw numbers/materials collected that represent a measurement or variable; it is unorganized and unprocessed.

  • F = 1, FREQ = 17957; M = 2, FREQ = 11747; NR = 3, FREQ = 198

Statistics are generated from data by processing, organizing, analyzing, interpreting, and representing the data in a meaningful context.

  • The UGA enrollment by sex for the Spring 2011 semester is 17,957 (60.05%) females, and 11,747 (39.28%) males, with 198 (.66%) not reporting.

Data Citation Index

Data Citation Index Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation.

GSS - U.S. Sociological and Attitudinal Trend Data, 1972-2012

The General Social Survey (SS) "takes the pulse of America" on a vast number of topics, with national-level data collected beginning in 1972 to present.* A great resource for any discipline!

To identify variables for the entire dataset and/or specific years:

To do data online analysis with no need for downloading or special software:

To download data for analysis in statistical software (e.g., SPSS, SAS, Stata, R):

  • You can also download the entire dataset, pre-constructed subsets, or create customized subsets of the data using SDA 4.0 - for help using SDA 4.0, check out these SDA 4.0 video tutorials.

Don't like the SDA 4.0 interface for exploring the GSS? Try out the GSS Data Explorer (in beta as of 04/06/2016) and its help resources.

Demographic Datasets

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research by providing training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community as well a a data archive social science research.

Atlanta Research Data Center Located at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, the Atlanta Research Data Center (ARDC) seeks to provide qualified researchers in Atlanta, and around the Southeast, with the opportunity to perform statistical analysis on non-public Census microdata.

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR) DSDR provides resources to demographic data producers and users, including confidentiality and disclosure review, restricted data contract development and data dissemination, a searchable index of important demography and population study data, and a catalogue of publications using data indexed.

IPUMS The MPC is one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources. We provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.

National Longitudinal Surveys Sponsored by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a family of surveys dedicated to tracking the labor market and other life experiences of American men and women. The seven NLS cohorts are: (1) National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1997 (NLSY97); (2) National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1979 (NLSY79); (3) NLSY79 Child and Young Adult; (4) Older Men; (5) Mature Women; (6) Young Men; and (7) Young Women.

Education Datasets

School Attendance Boundary Information System (SABINS) The School Attendance Boundary Information System (SABINS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for school attendance areas, or school catchment areas, for selected areas in the United States for the 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-12 school years.
 
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research by providing training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community as well a a data archive social science research.

Health Datasets

Atlanta Research Data Center Located at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, the Atlanta Research Data Center (ARDC) seeks to provide qualified researchers in Atlanta, and around the Southeast, with the opportunity to perform statistical analysis on non-public Census microdata.
 
CDC Wonder Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research - Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports,and guidelines on health-related topics.
 
Global Health Observatory Data Repository The GHO data repository provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non-communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
 
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research by providing training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community as well a a data archive social science research.
 
iPOLL Provides U.S. public opinion poll data through a full-text retrieval system organized at the question level. GSU users can access the download data sets, many of which are available in SPSS format.
 
Open Payments Data CMS "Open Payments is the federally run transparency program that collects information about financial relationships between physicians, hospitals and health care manufacturing companies."
 
WISQARSTM (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) An interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. From the CDC.

Religion Datasets

Association of Religion Data Archives The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. There are over 1,000 data files included in the ARDA collection. You can browse files by category, alphabetically, view the newest additions, most popular files, or search for a file. Once you select a file you can preview the results, read about how the data were collected, review the survey questions asked, save selected survey questions to your own file, and/or download the data file.

Media Datasets

Dataset Download | Pew Research Center  The Pew Research Center for The People & The Press offers free access (with registration) to its data archive. Datasets are currently available dating back to January 1997.

Datasets | Annenberg Public Policy Center Browse datasets provided by the Annenberg Center.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) seeks to advance and expand social and behavioral research by providing training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community as well a a data archive social science research.

Economic Datasets

Atlanta Research Data Center Located at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, the Atlanta Research Data Center (ARDC) seeks to provide qualified researchers in Atlanta, and around the Southeast, with the opportunity to perform statistical analysis on non-public Census microdata.

More Dataset Repositories

Data Observation Network for Earth (DataONE) DataONE is a collaboration among many partner organizations, and is funded by the US National Science Foundation (NSF) under a Cooperative Agreement.

List of Data Repositories for "Open Data"  This is a list of repositories and databases for open data.

Re3Data.org Registry of Research Data Repositories

International Datasets

World Values Survey The World Values Survey (WVS) is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents.

Criminal Justice Datasets

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data NACJD facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources.