Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Theatre History

Theatre History Sources

Primary Sources

The Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript  Library in the Russell Special Collections Library Building has a number of collections related to theater. Among their holdings are the Paris and London Music Hall Costume Designs, the Charles Coburn Collection, the Windham-Campbell Collection of Modern Literature, and other collections with theatre programs, broadsides, advertisements, and histories. Visit them or contact the Hargrett staff for research assistance.

Selected Reference Sources

The Internet Broadway Database: The official resource for Broadway history, including credits, biographies, number of performances, theatres, grosses, and awards. Coverage begins in the early 18th-century, although the content is thin until the 19th century.

The Internet Off Broadway Database (Lortel Archive): Credits, awards, number of performances, and information about theatres and companies Off Broadway.

Stage calendars listing productions and credits by date or author:

The Elizabethan Stage
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2589 .C4 1974         

The Jacobean and Caroline Stage
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2592 .B477

The London Stage. A Calendar of Plays, 1660-1800

The London Stage. A Calendar of Plays, 1660-1959
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2592 .L847+

The London Stage, 2nd edition
           1890-1899
           1900-1909
           1910-1919 
           1920-1929
           1930-1939
           1940-1949
           1950-1959

Bibliographia Dramatica et Dramaticorum, 1700-1799 (drama in the German Empire)
          Main Library 3rd floor PN1841 .M370 1986

Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater
                 
Ebook 

For more in the Historical Dictionaries Series such as Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre and Historical Dictionary of African American Theatre see this list in GIL-FInd.

American Theatre Companies, 1749-1986
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2237 .A43 1986; Ref PN2256 .A44 1987; Ref PN2266 .A54 1989

 

For more reference books, search GIL-Find.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristin Nielsen
she/her/hers
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian