Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre: Design

Costume Design Sources

Primary Sources

ARTstor:  Among the more than a million images in this database are photographs of items in museum collections. Either browse the section on "Fashion, Costume and Jewelry" or do an Advanced Search by keyword, geographical region, and/or time period (i.e., hats from Peru).

Historical Magazines:

Vogue, 1913-present
          Main Library 6th floor, TT500 .V888
Cosmopolitan,  1886-1916, 1926-1952
          Main Library 2nd floor, AP2 .C834
Glamour, 1953-present
          Main Library 6th floor, TT500 .G5
Esquire, 1961-present
          Main Library 2nd floor, AP2 .E64
Life, 1936-72, 1978-2000
          Main Library 2nd floor, Folio AP2 .L722

Sample Reference Books

The Costume Technician's Handbook
          Main Library 7th floor TT507 .I47 2003

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Throughout the Ages
          Main Library 1st floor Ref GT511 .P46 2004

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
          Main Library 1st floor Ref GT507 .E53 2005

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
          Main Library 1st floor Ref GT31 .G74 2004

Costume Design on Broadway: Designers and Their Credits, 1915-1900
          Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2067 .O94 1987

For more books, search in GIL-Find using subject terms like:

  • costume [with limiters such as 'Japan' or 'History' or 'Children']
  • costume design
  • clothing and dress
  • dressmaking

Set Design Sources

Primary Sources

ARTstor:  Among the more than a million images in this database are photographs, drawings, and plans under the categories "Architecture and CIty Planning," "Garden and Landscape, " and "Decorrative Arts, Utilitarian Objects, and Interior Design." Either browse those categories or do an Advanced Search by keyword, geographical region, and/or time period (i.e., bridges in Italy or bedrooms in the ancient world).

Historical Magazines:

Good Housekeeping, 1894, 1903-present
          Science Library TX1 .G646 for 1976-present; 1894-1975 at Repository--request in GIL
Life, 1936-72, 1978-2000
          Main Library 2nd floor, Folio AP2 .L722
Better Homes and Gardens, 1922-present
          Main Library microfilm for 1922-29; Repository for 1929-1985; Main Library 7th floor NA7100 .B565 for 1986-2008
House and Garden, 1903-1993
          Main Library 7th floor NA7100 .H841 for 1962-93; 1903-61 at Repository
Architectural Digest, 1979-present
          Main Library 7th floor NK1700 .A73

Sample Reference Books

The Handbook of Set Design
         
Main Library 3rd floor PN2091 .S8 W57 2006

Stage Rigging Handbook 
         
Main Library 3rd floor PN2091 .M3 G54 2007

Theatre Backstage from A to Z
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2091 .M3 L68 1999

Theatrical Designers: An International Biographical Dictionary
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref  PN2096 .A1 T436 1992

Scenic Design on Broadway: Designers and Their Credits, 1915-1990
         
Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2096 .A1 O94 1991

For more books, search in GIL-Find using these subject terms:

  • theaters--stage setting and scenery
  • scene painting
  • set designers
  • interior decoration
  • dwellings
  • architecture, domestic
  • social life and customs

Lighting Design Sources

 Sample Reference Books

Stage Lighting: Fundamentals and Application
          Main Library 3rd floor PN2091.E4 D87 2011

Interior Lighting for Designers
          Science Library 3rd floor TK4175 .G67 2003

Lighting Design Basics
          Science Library 3rd floor TH7703 .K27 2012

Lighting Design on Broadway: Designers and Their Credits, 1915-1990
          Main Library 1st floor Ref PN2091 .E4 O94 1991

For more books, search in GIL-Find using these subject terms:

    • lighting
    • stage lighting
    • stage lighting designers
    • electric lighting [for more technical books]

    Your Librarian

    Profile Photo
    Kristin Nielsen
    she/her/hers
    Contact:
    Main Library Research & Instruction Department
    knielsen@uga.edu
    706-542-0654

    Chat with a Librarian