Skip to main content

HIST 4990 Wolf: Home

Get help

 

  Click the red chat balloon on the Libraries home page to contact a reference librarian immediately; other contact information is also on the home page.

Library services

Access Services Contact Access Services with questions about your library account, fines, and book requests: phone (706) 542-3256 or email maincirc@uga.edu

Citation management software: Endnote and Refworks. Collect citations from GALILEO databases, add them to your papers, and automatically format your bibliography.

Floor maps and call number directory

GILFind The catalog of the UGA Libraries. Log in to Your Account for information about your checked out books, requests, and fines. Also use the catalog for recalling books that have been checked out, renewing books that you have checked out, or requesting books from the Libraries or from GIL Express.

Interlibrary Loan Request articles from journals not owned by UGA, or books not available at UGA or through GILExpress. Electronic deliveries of articles may take 3-5 business days; times for deliveries of books vary.

Multisearch : Find books and articles with one search

Research Conferences Meet with a librarian who specializes in your topic for an in-depth discussion of available resources.

WorldCat: Find books and manuscripts from libraries around the world

Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic reference and citation manager. Use it to store and organize your references. There is no limit to the number of references you can store in RefWorks.

With RefWorks you can:

  • log in from anywhere to access your references
  • import references from GIL-Find and GALILEO databases
  • organize your references into folders
  • format your bibliography in MLA or many other citation styles

There is also a "Write n Cite" plug-in for Word, which you can download and use to insert references into your paper as you write it.

For more information about RefWorks, and to get started setting up your account, go to our RefWorks guide.

Citing sources

UGA Libraries Citation Style Guides : examples of commonly cited items like books and articles from many different citation styles

The Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation Sources : more in-depth discussions of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles

Refworks : export citations from GALILEO databases and add them to your papers using an add-in to MSWord; automatically format bibliographies More about Refworks; Request a training session in Refworks

Special Collection Libraries

Special Collections Libraries

The new Special Collections Libraries building on Hull Street houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Brown Media Archives and Peabody Collection. Materials in special collections libraries can be used by appointment. As soon as you know which special collections library you wish to use, contact the archivists to discuss your research.

UGA Libraries Special Collections are specialized archives holding original, rare, and irreplaceable materials. Although many items in special collections are included in GILFind, the UGA Libraries catalog, the specialized finding aids listed in this guide may help you do more detailed searches. See hints for searching GIL for items from Special Collections here. Materials can be requested by clicking request buttons on records of materials in a special collection in the UGA Libraries catalogs, GIL and GILFind, or in special collections finding aids. 

Hargrett Library

Russell Library

Media Archives

For information on specific topics, researchers should contact a Special Collections archivist:

Hargrett contacts

Russell contacts

Media contacts