GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:
Historical Abstracts with Full Text Index and abstracts to articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
GALILEO contains over 400 databases; you may want to consider using a subject-specific database like one of these:
Anthropology Plus Compilation of the two major anthropology indexes: Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Bibliography of the History of Art (J. Paul Getty Trust) Index to articles, books, and other materials in art history, covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2007.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (at EBSCOhost) Index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1990s-present.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) Articles and reviews of films and television programs
GenderWatch (ProQuest) Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
PsycINFO The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.
These are just a few of the specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias you can use to start your research. Be sure to ask a librarian to help you find more information on your topic!
African American Biographical Database Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations. Search profiles to find people by occupation.
American National Biography Online Biographies of people important in American history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (in Literature Resource Center) Index to many biographical dictionaries. Search index by name, and find dictionaries by title in GIL, the UGA Libraries' catalog.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.
Dictionary of American History Standard reference work for U. S. history, with over 4,000 articles.
Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistical data for the United States.
New Georgia Encyclopedia Online encyclopedia of Georgia history.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Biographies of people important in British history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.
Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.
The People's Chronology Important events in world history, arranged by date.