Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reopening Fall 2020

A guide to services and changes in Fall 2020, in light of COVID-19.

Welcome

Libraries' Support for UGA Classes

Students and faculty will continue to have access to e-books, online journals, databases, streaming video, and other digital materials via the Libraries website. With the reopening of our library buildings August 10, access to the print collection is fully restored.

Whether you are teaching in person, hybrid, HyFlex, or online, we encourage you to use the resources listed below. If you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to a librarian either through online chat or email (ask@uga.libanswers.com) or by emailing your subject librarian.

Research Instruction

Integrate Library Instruction into Your Classes

Librarians can partner with you in teaching students research skills and tools, archives and primary sources, digital humanities, and how to create things in the Makerspace.

Sessions are tailored to your assignments and may be held virtually by Zoom or other online platforms. Live online sessions can be recorded for later viewing. Librarians can also develop asynchronous instructional materials. See examples of videos on searching databases such as PubMed or JSTOR; videos on research strategyinteractive tutorials; and online guides to research resources. Please allow additional lead time when requesting asynchronous modules.

In-person sessions are possible following social distancing guidelines in your classroom or our library and MLC labs.

To arrange for class instruction, use the request form or contact the subject librarian for your department, college, or school. Contact Special Collections for archival instruction sessions.

We encourage faculty to refer students to a librarian for individual help, either through online chat or email or by emailing your subject librarian for extended research consultations. Librarians can help students with their specific research topic over email, phone, or web conferencing.

Faculty can also link from eLC to subject lists of databases and other online resources, citation management tools, and other "how-to" guides.

Access to Library Materials

Access to Libraries' Materials for Classes

Online Course Reserves: We offer a free course reserves service that integrates with eLC to provide access to electronic resources and digitization of materials. Learn more about submission guidelines or submit your course readings.

Ebooks for class use: The Libraries may be able to purchase an ebook for your class readings. Please fill out the suggest a purchase form.

Streaming media: The Libraries offer access to all of Films on Demand and some films in Kanopy. If your class needs to view films or other media not available on these platforms, contact Jermaine King at mediadep@uga.eduNote that Kanopy films are leased for either one or three years. Please confirm with mediadep@uga.edu that an existing lease will remain available through the dates you need students to view it.

Create stable links: When sharing links to articles or other e-resources with students, use the linking options within a database or create a custom link that will prompt students to login with their MyID.

Special Collections material digitization: Please email sclib@uga.edu.

Brown Media Archives material: Please email abolins@uga.edu.

Map and Government Information Library materials digitization: Please email mapsinfo@uga.edu to request scanning or view a list of frequently consulted digital resources.

Copyright questions: Please see the Copyright and Fair Use Statement. Have questions about fair use of materials for eLC or other sharing with students? Contact Mariann Samuel, mariann@uga.edu.