COMM 4370: Women and United States Public Discourse : Home

Gifts of Speech

• Women's speeches from around the world. Browse speeches by last name or year.

GIL-Find Library Catalog

• Enter the name of your speaker, choose "Subject" from the pull-down list, and search.
• GIL-Find Catalog Subject Search: women AND speeches
• Find books of women's speeches

C-SPAN

• Use the drop down by the search box and choose "People." Then search for your speaker.

Vital Issues

• Journal of African American Speeches (print only - Main Library 4th floor, E185.5 .V58)

American National Biography 

• Biographies of (dead) people important in American history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.

African American Biographical Database

• Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations. Covers 1790-1950.  Search profiles to find people by gender.

America: History and Life

• Find  scholarly journal articles in American history
• CLIO Notes
• outline of American history by era (i.e., "Postwar America)
• look in the upper left corner of the database for the link

Use news from around the date of the speech to see the reporting and reaction to speeches

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. To search individual titles, click:   

• Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (1868-1984) (ProQuest)
• Christian Science Monitor Historical Full Text (1908-2000) (ProQuest)
• New York Times Historical Full Text (1851-2006) (ProQuest)
• Wall Street Journal Historical Full Text (1889-1996) (ProQuest)
• Washington Post Historical Full Text (1877-1997) (ProQuest)

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online (1740-1900) (ProQuest) Full-text articles from over 1,100 American magazines published between 1741 and 1900. 

American Memory Project Digital library of the Library of Congress.Search for the name of your orator and see what comes up!

Find out what the press has to say about legislative issues.