Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMLT 2500: Ethnic American Literature (Waseem): Research Sources & Help

General Info

Get help

Even when you are away from campus, there are many ways to get library help:

-Email me at knielsen@uga.edu or make an appointment to meet over Zoom
-Chat online with a reference librarian
-Email the general reference help at ask@uga.libanswers.com.
-Call the reference desk at 706-542-3251

Study spots

-The Main Library has small study rooms on the first floor that fit 1-2 people with one that fits up to 4; individual study carrels on floors 3-5; and many open study tables on all floors.
-The Science Library has individual study carrels on floors 3-4; the silent Think Tank space on the 4th floor, and open study tables and couches on all floors.
-The MLC has over 90 small group study rooms along with open tables for studying on floors 3-4.

Online Journal Articles and Ebooks

SEARCH TIPS

  • Put titles and other phrases in quotation marks: "Reservation Blues" or "Pakistani American" so that exact phrase will be searched.
  • Use an asterisk as a wildcard to pick up various endings: assimilat* will find assimilate, assimilation, assimilated.

ARTICLES

Multi-Search is the largest library search engine for finding articles and books. It includes the library catalog plus more than 100 GALILEO databases. After doing your search, filtering to "Academic Journals," "Books" or "Ebooks" is important for locating literary criticism.

JSTOR and Project Muse are collections of full-text scholarly journals that let you search through the articles themselves. Coverage usually begins with the journal's first issue. Both let you search through scholarly ebooks, too. If the ebook isn't accessible in JSTOR or Project Muse, UGA probably has it in the library or through another ebook site -- search the title under the "Books & More" tab (the GIL Find catalog).

Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text news articles from the U.S. ethnic, minority, and native presses; it is good for author interviews and book reviews.

BOOKS

Ebook Central (ProQuest) and Ebook Collection (Ebsco) are our largest ebook collections. 

GIL Find catalog indexes both print and electronic books, films, and some rare books and manuscripts. Once logged into GIL Find, you may request books be held for you at the front desk at the library of your choice. You can also request books from other University System Libraries through GIL Express.

Your Librarian

Kristin Nielsen's picture
Kristin Nielsen
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department
knielsen@uga.edu
706-542-0654

Chat with a Librarian