Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Management

Need help learning EndNote and RefWorks? Not sure what Citation Management is? You've come to the right place.

EndNote 20 Changes

Considering switching EndNote versions? See the "What's new in EndNote 20" video before making changes.

EndNote trainers have also observed these changes.

  • Integrated library is no more - the only option is what was formerly known as "Temporary Library" mode - i.e. you do your search and then you have to select the items you want to add to your library.
  • Preview pane, along with the associated style selector, can be reinstated by double clicking on a citation. 
  • Editing a style is no longer under Edit>Output styles, but instead is under Tools>Output Styles

EndNote for Mac

  • Recent Mac Books and Mac Airs run on M1 chips not Intel. In most cases, Microsoft and 3rd party programs adjust automatically, but in a few cases you'll need to manually turn on Open with Rosetta.See the EndNote for Mac Guide.

Videos and Guides for EndNote 20

Getting Full-Text from EndNote

Settings for the Find Full Text function

We are testing out NEW paths for better Find Full Text function. Want to try it out? Go to your preferences and change the OpenURL path. Leave the authentication the same. If you have issues, you can report to us at sriggs@uga.edu and go back to the prior settings. We will remove the prior setting if feedback is good.

NEW SETTING TO TRY

Edit --> Preferences --> Find Full Text

OpenURL path:    https://galileo-uga.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01GALI_UGA/01GALI_UGA:UGA

 

PRIOR SETTINGS

Please note: EndNote cannot always find the full-text. Be sure to double-check our databases or print collection. You can use drag-and-drop to attach full text.

EndNote for Systematic Analyses

Doing a systematic analysis? See this article from the Journal of the Medical Library Association:  "De-duplication of database search results for systematic reviews in EndNote."

 

Going back a version

Some users may wish to go back to EndNote 20.2 after an update to 20.3. The options would be to either go back to the original 20.0 installer and don't update past 20.2, OR go directly to a 20.2 version of EndNote and do not update at all.

Workaround Process

  1. Back up your library (.enl + .data) by Syncing to EndNote Online and/or saving a copy on another drive.
  2. Uninstall EndNote 20.3
  3. Depending on availability, install one of the options below:

EndNote 20.0

  • If you kept your installer file on your PC, you can reuse that.
  • If you did not keep it, download EndNote 20 from UGA Libraries. The installer downloads EndNote 20.0.0.16480.
    • NOTE: .dmg is the Mac installer extension. PC users, make sure you use the Windows version
  • You may follow any prompts to upgrade to 20.1 or 20.2. Be careful of accidentally updating to 20.3 again, or you will have to repeat the process.

EndNote 20.2

  • If UGA Libraries has it available, it will be on the download page.
  • if you do not see this option, you will need to use the EndNote 20 file (above).

Questions:

Do I need an installer key?

No. We are a site license institution. There is one site license key. We provide you access to downloads if you can authenticate your status via your UGA ID information on the SSO site.

Can I just overwrite the old 20.3 with 20.0?

Overwriting should work, but completely removing older files is a more thorough process. Trainers prefer a blank slate, but you can overwrite if you prefer. If issues persist, retry with a full uninstall of the prior version.

 

More questions? Email sriggs@uga.edu and we may post your question here.