Cellular Biology

This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology?s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

The BIOSIS Citation Index database provides content from the BIOSIS Previews database plus powerful citation searching from Web of Science. The mission of BIOSIS, a not-for-profit organization established in 1926, is to foster growth, communication and use of biological knowledge for the common good. The database covers over 6,000 journals and documents from more than 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, book chapters and monographs in the life sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environment, microbiology, pharmacology and public health.

PubMed is the publicly available version of MEDLINE and combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals. The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. PubMed includes citations to articles from 1966 to the present and links from citations to full-text articles from 100 journals 1990 to the present. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

Reaxys provides unique organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemical information including specific bioassay results, logPs, toxicity values, reactions, experimental reaction text and substance-related information from English-language organic chemistry and life science patents. It also indexes prophetic compounds, information rarely covered in other databases, and offers easy-to-read expanded Markush displays.

The ACS Publications database contains archived and current issues of American Chemical Society journals.

The BioCyc collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) provides electronic reference sources on the pathways and genomes of many organisms. BioCyc databases describe organisms with sequenced genomes. BioCyc is primarily microbial. In addition, BioCyc contains databases for humans; for important model organisms such as yeast, fly, and mouse; and for other eukaryotes whose PGDBs have been curated. One reason for collecting all these PGDBs together within BioCyc is to enable the comparative analyses that become possible when multiple PGDBs are available within one site (see Tools Comparative Analysis). PGDBs have been created for many other organisms, including microbes, fungi, plants, and animals.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index mines the bibliographies of papers presented at conferences and other professional meetings. Although journal citation indexes have existed for many years, conference proceedings have not previously been integrated into the Web of Science platform. Researchers can now see where a particular author or publication has been cited in conference papers, find out where a meeting&aposs papers were published, and track emerging areas of research.

Data Citation Index provides a central place to discover data sets and studies stored in repositories worldwide. About half of the data indexed is from the life sciences, with strong content in the social sciences and physical sciences plus a smaller amount in the arts and humanities. DCI provides links to the primary data where available and--as part of the Web of Knowledge platform--also includes links to scholarly journals, books, and conference proceedings that have cited that data. In addition, DCI makes citing the data set or study simpler by providing a standardized citation.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text provides full text access to about 1.9 million dissertations and theses granted by academic institutions worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Basic information for a smaller number of dissertations and theses that are not available in full text is also included in this database.

Repbase is a comprehensive database of repetitive elements from diverse eukaryotic organisms. Currently, it contains over 3600 annotated sequences representing different families and subfamilies of repeats, many of which are unreported anywhere else. Repbase is being used in genome sequencing projects worldwide as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA (e.g. by RepeatMasker or CENSOR).

Note: To use SciFinder Scholar you must CREATE AN ACCOUNT using an on-campus computer, campus wifi, or authenticate from off-campus

These databases are unique in that the user can search to find which articles have cited a certain author or article. This technique of doing research, called pearl growing, allows researchers to find articles that are related to an earlier work. Often this technique turns up articles which are not found through traditional subject and keyword searches.

*WoS API Key: See "Web of Science Expanded API" entry in Database A-Z List.*