Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for History
For this assignment you may not need to use all of the over 400 databases to which we have access. That's not to say you'll NEVER need them, though!
To help you get started, follow these tips:
- Libraries Homepage--www.libs.uga.edu
- Scroll to the right to find Research by Subject & click
- Find HISTORY and choose your area. To begin, select "History". You'll get a list of databases to use, complete with direct links to each.
- Click on the button to see what kind of access we have to full-text materials. If it's not in electronic format, we may own it in print. Check for that option in GIL-FIND.
- Also, look at the Newspapers Library Guide for info on finding old newspapers.
Here are a few sources you may want to use for this assignment.
- Academic Search Complete Articles from some peer-reviewed journals as well as popular press, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and other sources.
- Anthropology Plus Anthropology Plus is a compilation of the two major anthropology indexes: Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature
- British Library Try this link to find materials on the Raj
- Eight Centuries (The Database formerly known as 19th Century Masterfile) Combined, multi-subject periodical indexes covering 1786 to 1922. Searching isn't very sophisticated. Try just british india and scroll through the resulting list of topics.
- Adam Matthew Explorer: This is a subset of Empire Online. Click on "Collections" to see the topics and select India, Raj & Empire
- Limit by using this option:
- Historical Abstracts History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) Index to articles from 1907-1984
- JStor--Full-text of scholarly journals on a wide range of subjects, dating back to the first issue. In most cases, the most recent five to six years are not available here.
- Library of Congress Well, really, what else is there to say?
- MLA International Bibliography Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.
- Periodicals Index Online--Limit by using "before" option.
- Philosophers Index Scholarly articles on philosophy
- PsycInfo All aspects of psychology. There is almost ALWAYS something on your topic here.
- Race Relations Abstracts Articles on race & ethnicity
- Readers Guide Retrospective (narrow dates for more relevant results) scholarly and popular press articles, 1890-1982
- SocINDEX with Full Text & Sociological Abstracts articles on Sociology. These are from two different platforms, so you can't search them simultaneously.
- Times Digital Archive Huge database. Try a simple search and then narrow the results. An "online" magnifying glass is provided.
- Ask for help if you need it! That's why we're here.....
Databases in the EBSCO "family" (America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts are part of EBSCO) can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.
- Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
- Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
- Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
- Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
- Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
- Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
- Use the button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
- If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan. They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.