Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDIT 2000: Intro to Computers for Teachers (Zhang): Some Databases to Search

A FEW Selected Databases

How do you even FIND a database?

Start at the Libraries' Home page (www.libs.uga.edu) On the right you can click on Research by Subject.  Use the Research by Subject tab to, well, research by subject. For this class you will probably  want  "Kinesiology/Sport". Clicking on the link to the subject will yield a list of databases you may want to use.

Here is a list of SOME of the databases to which we have access and which might be of use to you. To access these databases through the Libraries' Homepage, use the Find Tab and select GALILEO. You can then search by database name or just click through. You can also access the databases by clicking Databases A-Z which will take you to the alphabetic list.

First, a word about Scholarly/Peer Reviewed: When you begin researching in college, you'll probably be asked to find materials which are termed "scholarly" or "peer reviewed". These are articles which are not written for the general public, so magazines like Time, Newsweek, and People are NOT what you're looking for. Instead you're looking for materials BY scholars, FOR scholars. These materials will be in journals, which is the name for these kinds of publications. Their titles will probably contain words like Research, Studies, Clinical, Journal, and so on.

How do you GET these kinds of journals? It's part of the search process, so keep reading. Don't panic yet....

Some Databases You May Need

Academic Search Complete A good starting place, this looks at a wide variety of topics with a combination of scholarly & popular materials.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) and its "cousin" databases, Education Research Complete (also an EBSCO database) and a distant cousin, Education Database  (Not an EBSCO member) These will cover education from daycare to graduate school.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA)  Covers literature on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

PsycInfo The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers a YouTube playlist on using PsycINFO via EBSCOHost.

SOCIndex with Full-Text Index and articles on sociology.

 

Limiting Your Results

So, you've done a search and now have 22,345 hits. That's probably more than you want to read. How to get the number down?

This is a sample search with over 35,000 hits. See where it says "refine"? Go there.

Though it's tempting, DON'T LIMIT TO FULL TEXT. You''ll lose too many useful titles that way. However, if the day comes when you need three articles and class is in ten minutes and you completely forgot, go ahead. For more serious research, skip this one!

You can see that we have hits back to 1960. You may want to LIMIT by scooting the left tab over so that you now have the most recent 10 years

You DO want ot limit to Scholarly/Peer Reviewed, so click that box.

 

Now, let's narrow where we're looking.  We started out looking everywhere for our terms. We still have a ton. So limit WHERE we look:

We started with "look everyhere" buy choosing select a field.

 

With this many hits, take a look at the subject headings in articles you like and then change "select a field" to "subject terms". You'll get fewer hits. You can also change your search to use the new terms you may have discovered.

What To Do With What You've Found

Many articles have the full-text right there, as a PDF. If not look for the little blue box  Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.- . This will tell you if we have access to it electronically. If not, search in GIL-FIND, as you would for a book, but search for a journal title instead. Never search in GIL for the title of the article. You'll never find it.

If we don't own it at all, visit the Interlibrary Loan Page and they will get the article for you. For Free. Really.

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family"  (America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts, for example, are part of  EBSCO) can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "OK" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.- to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically search for the JOURNAL TITLE in GIL-FIND to see if we own it in print.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.