GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: WMST 2010: Intro to Women's Studies: Sources

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Books

Search for books in UGA's libraries using the GIL-Find catalog. Choose "Full Access Online" for ebooks or "Available in the Library" for print books.

Search tips: You can do a more general search on your topic, since books cover more territory than articles do. Use the table of contents, index, and (for ebooks) search function to identify the parts you need.

Women's Studies Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.
Gender Watch focuses on the impact of gender on women's lives. It provides coverage on the family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and workplace issues, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders, and social and societal roles. It also includes resources on the impact of gender on the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, scholarship, health care and medicine, politics, religion, sex roles, sexuality, and sports.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly and some popular press articles, book chapters and more on women's studies, feminist scholarship, and sexuality.
Women's Studies International includes bibliographic records drawn from women's studies databases including: Women Studies Abstracts; Women's Studies Database; New Books on Women & Feminism; WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies; Women, Race, & Ethnicity: A Bibliography; The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and the Disciplines; POPLINE Subset on Women; Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research; Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
The database is produced with data licensed from: Rush Publishing, Inc.; Guillaume Data Services, Inc.; University of Wisconsin, Madison; Judith P. Zimmerman; University of Memphis, the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), and the World Health Organization.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
LGBTQ+ Source provides comprehensive coverage of academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications. This database contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ core periodicals and more than 330 LGBTQ core books and reference works, as well as the full text of 120 journals and 140 books.

Search for News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Particularly useful for regional and Georgia news sources.
Access World News provides access to electronic editions of thousands of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as international sources. In addition to newspaper content, sources such as blogs, broadcast transcripts, and video clips are also included. Company and industry information, politics, sports, cultural activities, and people in the community are among the subjects covered. Paid ads are excluded.
Beta trial database.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch provides a full-text collection of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the ethnic, minority and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints is provided through an extensive collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, and news reports.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes major national papers like the New York Times and Washington post, as well as coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S. and around the world.
Global coverage of newspapers and newswires from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Biographical Sources

GIL-Find Catalog
To find books, ebooks, and films about your person of interest, enter their name in the search box. Choose "Subject" from the drop-down next to the search box. This will help you find books that are specifically about that person.

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest)
Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.

American National Biography Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia of (deceased) persons of significance.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographical encyclopedia (the entries are detailed enough to call it that) of important (deceased) figures in British history.

African American Biographical Database
Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations.

Your Librarian