Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Making Gay History Podcast
Podcast hosted by Eric Marcus, dedicated to bringing the largely hidden history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement to life through intimate conversations with LGBTQ champions, heroes, and witnesses.
History is Gay
"A twice-monthly podcast where two queer nerds use their passion for social justice, history, and storytelling to examine the overlooked and underappreciated queer ladies, gents, and gentle-enbies from the unexplored corners of history. Because history has never been as straight as you think."
Archives and Oral History
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities, to gather and preserve records of lesbian lives and activities so that future generations will have ready access to materials relevant to their lives.
New York City Trans Oral History Project
A collaboration between the New York Public Library and the New York City Trans Oral History Project. The purpose of this project is "to collect, preserve, and share oral histories from [New York City's] transgender and gender non-conforming communities."
The Village Voice Archives
Archives of The Village Voice, housed by Google. Via New York Public Library: "An excellent source to read independent news coverage of the Stonewall uprisings as they occurred."
Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen Gay History Papers and Photographs via New York Public Library (NYPL)
Barbara Gittings (1932-2007) and Kay Tobin Lahusen (1930-) were gay civil rights pioneers and partners for nearly forty-six years. This NYPL collection contains their personal and professional papers, photographs by Lahusen from forty-five years of gay rights activism, and the extensive collection of materials they gathered and preserved to document the movement.
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world." It is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.
University of Georgia LGBT Resource Center
The University of Georgia's LGBT Resource Center is provides meaningful programming and engagement that meet the needs of the LGBTQIA and ally communities by creating an environment of advocacy, education, and support.
Athens Queer Collective
Collective of local Athenians working toward building a stronger, more cohesive, and inclusive Athens queer community through education, outreach, community support, and advocacy.
Local LGBT History Resources
Mike Maloney Collection of OutTV Atlanta
OutTV Atlanta, a half-hour weekly news and entertainment show focused on LGBTQ life, ran from 1999-2001 in Atlanta and Savannah. The collection, which contains about 240 digitized tapes of raw footage created in the process of making the show, belongs to Georgia State University Library’s Special Collections and Archives.
Emory University's Rose Library LGBT Collections
A list of the LGBT collections housed in Emory University's Rose Library, a closed-stacks library. All of their holdings are accessible only in their on-site reading room, but all researchers and interested patrons are welcome to visit. This collection documents the work of activists, organizations, and trailblazing political figures to achieve equality. The social and cultural collections include the personal papers of artists and writers as well as the records of social organizations and businesses. It also includes rare books, pamphlets, and periodicals written by and for the LGBT community.
From Whence We Came: Our LGBTQ ATL History
Article by Berlin Sylvestre about Atlanta's LGBTQ history in Georgia Voice, a local LGBTQ media outlet.
Georgia LGBTQ Archives Project
A Facebook group started by a group of dedicated archivists, librarians, and community volunteers who want to see Georgia's LGBTQ past preserved for future generations.