Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMST5440: Television history research: Home

Selected Publications

Broadcasting (& Cable)

Indexing:
Academic OneFile (1981-1993)
ProQuest Central (1988-current)

Full Text:
Academic OneFile (1984 - 1993, text only)
Factiva (1989 - current, text only)
ProQuest Central (1996 - current, text only)
Business Source Complete (1999 - current, text/PDF)

Physical Holdings:
As Broadcasting: 1935 - 1959 in Off-Site Storage, 1960 - 1993 on 3rd floor, Main Library, PN1991. B7
As Broadcasting & Cable: 1993 - 2009, with spotty coverage

Hollywood Reporter

Indexing:
Business Source Complete (1995 - current)

Full Text:
Factiva (1991 -  current, text only)
Business Source Complete (2008 - current, text only)

Physical Holdings:
Main Library 3rd floor: PN1993 H612  (1973, 1974, 1976, 1977)

TV Guide

Indexing:
Fine Arts & Music Collection (1977 - current)

Full Text: 
The archive on the TV Guide site goes back about a decade.

Physical Holdings:
Microfilm PN1992. T453 (1953 - 2013)

Variety

Indexing:
ProQuest Central (1972 - current, with gaps)
Film & Television Literature index (1994 - present, additional selective coverage back to 1988)

Full Text:
Film & TV Literature (1999 - current. Text and PDF.)
ProQuest Central (They claim 1972, but I'm very, very dubious. Text only.)

Physical Holdings: 
Current issues are in Current Periodicals on second floor of Main Library. Items in that area are shelved alphabetically by title. 
Microfilm PN2000. V3 (1905-2016, January 2017)

General Research for Television

Your Librarian

Amy Watts's picture
Amy Watts
Contact:
706-542-1114