It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Growing Winegrapes and Muscadines in Georgia's Challenging Climate: Resources
This guide is intended to be used by Dr. Hickey's FYO 1001 class for resources available about viticulture and cultivars.
The Oxford Companion to Wine by Jancis Robinson (Editor)
Call Number: TP 548.O 76 1999
Publication Date: 1999-12-23
3,400 alphabetically arranged entries explore all aspects of wine, including the latest advances in viticulture and enology. There are in-depth discussions of the climates and grape varieties of great wine regions of the world. The book discusses vintner's terms, business and legal aspects, and related topics such as distilled and fortified wines.
Grapes by Glen L. Creasy; Leroy L. Creasy
Call Number: SB 387.7 C74 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Providing historical and current information about the grape industry, the chapters cover genetics, breeding and cultivars, grapevine growth, development and nutrition, climate requirements, pests and diseases and post-harvest production.
The Science of Grapevines by Markus Keller
Call Number: QK 495.V55 K44 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-19
This is an introduction to the physical structure of the grapevine, its various organs, their functions and their interactions with the environment. Beginning with a brief overview of the botanical classification (including an introduction to the concepts of species, cultivars, clones, and rootstocks), plant morphology and anatomy, and growth cycles of grapevines.
Wine Science by Ron S. Jackson
Call Number: TP 548.J15 1994
Publication Date: 1994-03-24
A review of world scientific literature pertaining to grape-growing, wine production and wine assessment. The book discusses the theory and application of viticultural, ecological and wine evaluation practices. Specific details discussed include wine ageing, oak maturation and cork production.
Vineyards, Rocks, and Soils by Alex Maltman
Call Number: TP 548.M31737 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-02
This book explores how the geology-wine connection manifests in the finished product and evaluates its importance, particularly in the contexts of minerality, terroir, and wine taste. The fact is that geology is increasingly being promoted in the world of wine; the aim here is to help it be properly understood.
Many large universities who have a focus on agriculture have extension websites to help communicate with the public, local farmers and growers about topics related to research being done at their university. These are often practical and applicable information. Below are a couple extension websites pertaining to grapes and muscadines.
HortTechnology serves as the primary outreach publication of the American Society for Horticultural Science. Its mission is to provide science-based information to professional horticulturists, practitioners, and educators; promote and encourage an interchange of ideas among scientists, educators, and professionals working in horticulture; and provide an opportunity for peer review of practical horticultural information.
HortScience publishes horticultural information of interest to a broad array of horticulturists. Its goals are to apprise horticultural scientists and others interested in horticulture of scientific and industry developments and of significant research, education, or extension findings or methods.
VIVC is an encyclopedic database with around 23000 cultivars, breeding lines and Vitis species, existing in grapevine repositories and/or described in bibliography. It is an information source for breeders, researchers, curators of germplasm repositories and interested wine enthusiasts.
Index to research on agriculture, forestry and allied life sciences.
CAB Abstracts & CAB Archive provide bibliographic citations in the fields of agriculture, forestry and their allied life science disciplines. Specific topics include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, travel and rural development.
Index to publications on all aspects of agriculture and agricultural research.
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.
Index and abstracts to international journal articles, conference papers, and books in biological and medical research.
The BIOSIS Citation Index database provides content from the BIOSIS Previews database plus powerful citation searching from Web of Science. The mission of BIOSIS, a not-for-profit organization established in 1926, is to foster growth, communication and use of biological knowledge for the common good. The database covers over 6,000 journals and documents from more than 1,500 international meetings, as well as review articles, books, book chapters and monographs in the life sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, botany, ecology, environment, microbiology, pharmacology and public health.
Food Science Source contains full-text coverage for more than 1,300 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with food industry-related issues. More than 1,000 key food industry and market reports are also included.