How to you even FIND the databases? Start with the Libraries' Homepage.
Another method is to identify your databases by topic.
The blue button in database search results will connect you to our electronic holdings of the JOURNAL where your article appears. If we don't electronically own the material you need, go to the GIL-FIND catalog to see if we have the item in print. Search for the journal title and not the article!
In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases, ERIC@EBSCO, Education Research Complete & PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families", i.e., EBSCOHost or ProQuest.
Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete, ProQuest ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (aka) Dissertation Abstracts ). Web of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.
Web of Science. Find articles by author, topic or journal title in Web of Science. One of the best features of Web of Science is the display of the number of times a particular article has been cited, by whom and in what journal. This is an excellent way to discover seminal papers in your field. Search for authors by lastname firstinitial asterisk (ex. : bergmann c*) without any additional punctuation. Use the asterisk in place of the middle name. Web of Science is all scholarly materials but is not particularly strong in education, although that is getting better over time.
Looking for policy discussions? Consider PolicyMap, a data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Also consider Political Science Complete, Public Administration Abstracts, & Public Affairs Index. SREB is the Southern Regional Education Board database and may also have some policy recommendations.
Career & Technical Education Database and InfoTrac Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection may offer some new information sources for you.
Additional resources relating to adult learners can be found in the GALILEO listing for Education--Adult
Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.